Alwington, a pleasant village on the banks of the little river Yeo, four miles SW by S of Bideford, has in its parish, 392 souls and 5330 acres of land, including the hamlets of Fairy Cross, Ford and Woodttown. The Rev. J. T. P Coffin MA is lord of the manor of Alwington and has a handsome seat here called Portledge, which has been the seat and property of the Coffins nearly from the time of the conquest.
Charles Bruton Esq is lord of the manor of South Yeo and owner of the pleasant seat called Yeo Vale and of the Barton of Winscott. Mr S. Rolstone and a few smaller owners have estates in the parish.
The Church (St Andrew) is a small unique structure, with a tower and four bells, and contains monuments and memorials of the Coffin, Pine and other families. The rectory is in the patronage and incumbency of the Rev.J. T.P. Coffin, Ma who has 60 acres of glebe and £243 per annum. The remains of an ancient chapel at Yeo Vale, formerly stood near the mansion, but have been removed to a more distant part of the grounds.
The parish school was built by the Rector and Mrs Morrison in 1836. Here is a small Weslyan chapel and an almshouse for three acres of land, vested with the successive heirs of his family. The poor have 2½ acres, purchased with benefaction money and the interest of £25, left by Richard Coffin in 1795.