^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parishes

which are grouped in Hundreds*

Arlington belonged to the Hundred of Shirwell

(The original spelling has been retained )

Anias Carder & family William Parking
Geoffrey Comer & family William Parmynter & family
John Comer & family Mr Anias Pasloe & family
Anias Cornwall & family Bartholomew Pugsley
Robert Crane Humphrey Pugsley & family
Matthew Hammond Richard Pugsley
David Harris & family William Pugsley
William Hary John Steere & family
Bartholomew Herwill & family William Tamlin & family
John Huckstable Ciprian Withes & family
Philip Mansell ----
Popish Recusants:  
John Chichester Esq Edward Mansell
Mr Lewis Chichester John Ward
Mr Robert Chichester Mr Gregory Chichester
Mr Edward Chichester Anthony Cady

Gascoyne Canham - Rector

(All the above names in the same hand)


* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page