^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials




By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Bishops Tawton belonged to the Hundred of  South Molton

The original spelling has been preserved

John Adames
Christopher Colmar
Nicholas Hence
Alexander Allen
John Comer sen.
Hugh Hencley
Hugh Amery
John Conner jun
Michael Hencley
John Amerye
Thomas Cornesh
Thomas Hardinge
Thomas Aze
Edmund Cowell
Thomas Harding
Hugh Bagge
Henry Cowell
Pasco Herdings
Henry Baker
Robert Cowell
Abrhaham Herson
John Baker
Simon Cowell 
John Herson sen.
John Baker
Achilles Cowell
John Herson jun
Philip Baker
John Cutley
William Herson
Thomas Baker
John Darbey
John Herston
William Band
Anthony Davy
John Hill
John Barnes
Anthony Davy jun 
John HIllaway
Thomas Barnes
William Davys
Richard Hillaway
Davy Basley
John Delbridge
Robert Hillaway sen
George Basley
William Demand
Robert Hillaway jun
Robert Basley
James Denham
Abel Hockinge
Davy Beaple
James Derry
Daniel Holmead
John Beare 
John Derry jun.
Henry Hooper
Robert Beare jun.
William Duke sen
John Hooper
William Beare. sen
William Duke jun
Nicholas Hooper
William Beare jun
Philip Dune
William Horrard
George Beere
Samuel Elyston
Robert Horrard
Robert Beere
Maurice Evens
John Hue
Robert Benet Gent
John Featherston
William Hundwell
Robert Bishop
William Fletcher
Davy Huxtabell
Richard Boyens
Mr Thomas Furlong
George Jackman
William Branklin
George Frayne
Hugh Jorman
Philip Breley 
John Frayne sen.
Nicholas Keste
Roger Browne
John Frayne
John Langdon
Matthew Budd
Peter Frayne sen
John Lechland
Simon Burch
Peter Frayne
Robert Lechland
Nicholas Bushen
Thomas Frayne
Simon Lechland
William Chappell
Thomas Frayne
Nicholas Lerswell
Mr Arthur Chechester
Philip Gebes
Thomas Lescott
Mr George Chechester
Owen Gosse
George Lawes
Mr Hugh Chechester gent
John Graddon 
John Lewes
Sir John Chechester,Knight 

Richard Graddon

Owen Harbones

Edmund Hall sen

Edmund Hall jun

Henry Ley

John Ley

Thomas Ley 

William Ley

Michell Chollacom
Robert Hall
George Leyde
John Chope
James Halse
Francis Loveringe
John Clampett
Henry Hammett
Robert Lugge
John Clampett
John Hammett
Edmund Marshall
Tristram Clarke
Hugh Handford
William Marshall
Thomas Coles
John Harell
Francis Marten
Edmund Collacott
Lewis Harries
William Matthew
Humphrey Collens
William Harryes
Thomas May
William Collomoe sen
William Harrys
George Maye
William Collomor jun.
Hugh Heddon
John Maye.




^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page