^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials


By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Bovey Tracey belonged to the Hundred of Teignbridge

The original spelling has been preserved

John Angove Thomas Credford John Harris
Michael Austen John Credforde William Harris
Robert Avant John Crediford Philip Haskey
James Baker Stephen Crout Richard Heart
John Baker John Cullying Charles Heath
Laurence Baker John Cummyn Christopher Heath
Mark Baker John Dadde Edward Heath
William Baker John Daymen William Heath
William Baker Lionel Daymen George Heaward
James Ball Thomas Daymen John Heaward
William Barter John Daymond Pasco Hearward
William Barter John Degon Hugh Heller
George Bartlett William Degon John Hellyer
William Bartlett Edmund Didham John Hellyer
George Batty Paul Dowlyn John Hellyer
Hugh Beardon George Dreaton Arthur Helman
George Beare Hannibal Dreaton Edward Hilman
Roger Beare John Dreaton Edward Hilmore
Thomas Beare John Dreaton Richard Hole
Peter Bearne William Dreaton William Hore
William Bearne Henry Dunley William Hore
Henry Berrie Edward Eales Edward Horsum
John Berry Edward Eales John Hunt
John Berry Humphrey Edwards John Hunt
John Berry Bennett Ellis Adrian Jacob
William Berry Thomas Endle John Jacob
John Berryman George Danderell John Jacob
William Bishopp Richard Farwell William Jacob
Nathaniel Borrough Nicholas Flatcher Roger Kennicott
Hugh Bowden Thomas Flea Gregory Kinge
John Bowden John Forde Edward Lamble
John Bowden John Freer Michael Lamble
John Browninge John French William Lange
John Bunckum Peter French John Langworthie
Robert Bunker Thomas French Elias Langworthy
Thomas Burd Thomas French Elias Langworthy
John Burde Thomas French Henry Langworthy
Richard Burde Laurence Fryer John Langworthy
George Carpenter Mark Gardner Thomas Langworthy
John Catforde John Gazicke William Lashbrooke
John Clea Francis Gill John Lea
William Cleve William Gill John Leaker
Michael Coale George Glandfield Peter Leaker
John Cocke Richard Glandfield Robert Lee
Francis Codner Stephen Glandfield Thomas Leer
Richard Colcher William Gongame John Lowe
Robert Cole John Goodwell Christopher Lynes
Hannibal Corbyn William Gaunt John Maine
William Corbyn Christopher Gray John Man
Hugh Couch William Green William Man
Robert Courtise John Gribble George Mawrie
John Cove John Gribble Gregory Mawrie
Richard Cove Robert Gribble Richard Marie
Thomas Cove Stephen Hall Vincent Mayne
Peter Coysh John Hamble Christopher Mead
William Coysh George Harris Alexander Merdon



* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page