^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.

The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Bradworthy belonged to the Hundred of Black Torrington

The original spelling has been preserved

John Avery John Ellyott (son of Nicholas) William Olde
Richard Avery Hugh Fa\cy sen. Francis Osborne
Yeo Avery Richard facy John Osborne
William Baker Thomas Gay Richard Osborne
Thomas Bannday Tristram Gay Robert Osborne
Richard Bennett  John Genn Sidrach Osborne
John Bishopp (the smith) John Halfacre Thomas Osborne
John Bishopp sen. Richard Halfacre William Palmer
John Bishopp jun. Michael Harris Richard Peard
John Bishopp (son of Robert) Timothy Heaffer Alexander Peat
Robert Bishopp John Hearnaman William Peate
Robert Bishopp (son of Robert) Theophilus Heyman David Peirce
Thomas Bishopp (son of John) Edward Hill Humphrey Peirce
Thomas Bishopp ( son of Robert) William Hobbs John Peirce
Timothy Bowddon John Holligrew J0nas Pridham
John Braddon Edward Honscott Martin Priest
Thomas Braddon John Hood Nicholas Prist
William Braddon Leonard Hortopp John Prudham sen.
Thomas Brooke sen Edward Jeffry Robert Prudham
Thomas Brooke jun George Jeffry Humphrey Radgman
Richard Browne Thomas Jeffry John Record
Thomas Browne Thomas Jenkin Robert Sangwin
John Browning William Jenn John Shutt
Waltger Burnbury (absent from home) John Jolliff Laurence Snowe
Humphrey Can (of unsound memory) Bartholomew Jolliffe Richard Snowe
Richard Can (of Youlkston) Richard Jolliffe Thomas Somer
Richard Can sen, Gent Ephraim Jory Richard Spearman
Thomas Can (son of Richard) Anthony Judd Richard Steevens
William Cann (son of Richard) David Judd Esaphraditus Terdrewe
George Cleverdon Giles Judd John Terdewe
William Clogg John Judd Robert Terdewe
Richard Colscott Arthur Lyell Anthony Terrey
Richard Cortis Jonas Lyell Francis Toms
Robert Cortis Matthew Lyell George Tucker
Thomas Cortis Richard Lyell Nicholas Tucker
William Cortis John Looman William Tucker
John Courtis John Mill John Vigurs (Taylor)
John Courtis Oliver Mill John Vigurs son of Thomas)
Laurence Courtis John Maddick Robert Vigurs
William Courtis David Marshall Thomas Vigurs , Gent.
Petwer Cowls Richard Marshall Thomas Vigurs, sen.
Amos Crocker Diggory Marshall Richard Webb
William Crocker Robert Moore Robert Wheare
George Croombe Thomas Moore, Gent Richard Wheeler
John Croombe Hugh Mungey (absent from home) John Woolfe
Giles Darke Hugh Neale Ambrose Yeo
John Darke John Neale Christopher Yeo
Mathew Dawe Philip Neale Hugh Yeo
William Dennis ( Thomas Vigurs' servant) Roger Neale John Yeo
Alexander Elliott Robert Nicholl Richard Yeo
David Elliott Philip Nott Richard Yeo
Nicholas Elliott Absalem Olde Robert Yeo
Roger Elliott Hugh Olde John Yondon
Samuel Elliott (son of Nicholas) John Olde ----

(The names are written in the same  hand

the following five are signatures))

William Lange - Clerk

Richard Can jun - Constable

John Prudham

Elizeus Jolliff - Churchwarden

John Elliott - Overseer 

* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page