^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Cadbury belonged to the Hundred of  Hayridge

The original spelling has been preserved

Roger Bale
Nicholas Fursdon
Elmer Radford
William Bere
George Gatter
William Radford
Barholomew Berrye
Peter Gatter
John Smith
Henry Bradford
John Gosse
Richard Smith jun.
James Bradford
Henry Hakes
Francis Sothwood
James Bradford
Oliver Jarman
Roger Sothwood
John Chamberlyn
Thomas Jarmon
Riuchard Squier
William Chard
William Jerton
Tristram Stokes
Henry Coke jun.
Humphrey Marshall
Thomas Stronge
Christopher Cooke
Richard Marshall
Richard Teape
Henry Cooke sen.
Richard Marshall
Ellis Trewman
Richard Diggett
John Parke
Peter Tucker
Robert Eayne
Peter Parkman
William Tucker
John Filye
Christopher Passmore
Roger Uphome
George Fursdon, Gent
George Pecke
Roger Uphound jun.
JOhn Fursdon
John Plomer
Peter Whetrowe

(The above names written in the same hand, the following five are signatures)

James Bradford - Vicar

Richard Squier - Constable

John Chamberlaine - Churchwarden

Henry Cooke - Overseer

Oliver Jarman - Overseer

* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.

Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page