^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.

The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Cadeleigh belonged to the Hundred of  Hayridge

The original spelling has been preserved

John Aishe
Henry Herd
Thomas Morgan
Benedict Badcocke
Richard Herd
John Moxhey
James Battin
John Herneman
Roger Oxenham
Roger Beedle
William Hole
Samuel Oxenham
Mark Benfield
Abraham Holemeade
Daniel Payne
Thomas Berrie
Hunphrey Holemeade
John Payne
Humphrey Berry
James Holemeade
William Payne
Christopher Bishop
Thomas Holmore
George Pester
Simon Blight
John Hurman
John Petherick
Nicholas Botefield
Clement Jutzsam
Roger Pitt
Robert Bradford
John Jutzsam
Henry Pooke
Richard Bridle
John Jutzsam
Hugh Purselake
William Bridle jun.
Robert Jutzsam
Edward Reede
William Bridle sen.
Robert Jutzsam
George Rutley
Lancelot Burlace
William Jutzsam
William Sharland
Richard Burnard
Francis Kerselake
Francis Southwood
William Carpenter
John Knight
Richard Southwood
Peter Clement
Maurice Lake
John Squier
Philip Clement
William Lake
Robert Squier
Robert Clement
Nicholas Land
John Strowbridge, Gent
John Cockeram sen.
John Lane
John Timewell
John Cockeram jun.
Roger Lane
Nicholas Timewell
William Cuttinge
Pascho Lenden
Richard Thomas
George Dagworthie
Nicholas Ley
John Townesend
John Dagworthy
William Ley
John Tuckefield
Roger Drew
Philip Locke
Ferdinand Venner
George Fornard
John Marwoode
Thomas Warren
Philip Gifford
John Matthew
John Whittin
John Granger
Robert Matthew
William Winter
William Granger
William Matthew
John Woodward
Richard Hawkins
William Matthew

The name of those that have not taken the protestation within the parish:

Roger Strowbridge Gent, being in a journey at London

Joseph Squier being sick and aged

Peter Squier being sick

Roger Hurrell being in a journey at London with Mr. Strowbridge

The above names written in the same hand,

the following five are signatures


Richard Hawkins - Minister

John Woxhey - Constable

Roger Pitt - Churchwarden

Robert Matthew - Overseer

William Cutting - Overseer

* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.



^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page