^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By 1925, village schools went under the name of Council Schools. The school leaving age had just been raised to 14, with boys and girls being educated separately. Through a system of scholarships (money provided by the County Council) bright children could find a way through to a better education. In Devon, this meant gaining access to one of the County's excellent  Grammar Schools (all of which then charged fees). Country children could not travel to such schools on a daily basis so were awarded boarding scholarships, staying from Monday to Friday in a house run by a senior teacher at the school. Bright children were entered for what was called "The Scholarship Exam" when they were 11. As we see below, Chagford had covered itself with glory and gained two such scholarships.

Unlike today, children did not automatically move up at the end of each school year. The year groups were called "Standards" and denoted standards of attainment laid down by HM Inspectors which had to be reached before "going up". Thus, each classroom contained a mix of ages - theoretically, if a child never attained a standard higher than that of Standard 3, he, or she, could remain in that class for many years, going over and over the same syllabus in the hope that some of it would eventually stick!


From the Western Times

24 December 1925

The first annual prize giving of the combined Junior and Senior school took place at the Parochial School on Monday evening. There was a large gathering of parents and friends and a short musical programme was admirably rendered and recitations were given effectively by D. Parsons, R. Thorne, J. Collins, V. Dicker, H. Randle, N. Weeks and J. Randle.

Miss S. A. Ellis, presenting her report on the Junior School,  said that the past year had been one of continued set-backs. For many months, the attendance had been sadly affected by epidemics, but fortunately, the air was now cleared. They were pleased at the courteous   way in which they had been allowed to co-operate with the Senior School.

A report presented by Mr. W. A. Bennett, headmaster of the senior school, showed that the general work of the school maintained a high level in spite of the set-backs they had experienced, An eloquent tribute was paid to Mr. George Smith JP (late headmster). They had  secured two County boarding scholarships during the year - Lawrence Dorling and Gerald Tucker. Successes of previous scholars were referred to. Mr. P, Osborne MA; Oxon, had this year secured his MA in London, and Mr. Arthur Weeks was second in the senior County Scholarships and was now at Selwyn College, Cambridge.

Cordial thanks were now extended to the staff for their loyal co-operation, and an appeal was made to the parents to secure regularity and punctuality on the the part of their children.

The rector (Rev, T. M. Bell-Salter) in introducing Mrs. Hayter- Haines, said they were pleased to have the interest of so many friends in the school and its work. They still valued mr. Hayter-Haines' long work on behalf of the schools. He referred to the excellent workj the school was doing under the head teachers of each department, and remarked that "character will outlast all else learned at school."

Cheers were given for the staff and managers.


Junior School -

Class 1 Violet Dicker; Harold Randle

Standard 1: Annie White; Francis Hammett

Class 2: Gwendoline Stone; Frank Stephens

Class 3: Lois Thorne; Bobby Thorne

The Rector's Prize: Lilian Membery

Mr Hayter-Haines' Prize: Bertram Hill

Senior School:

Standard III: Joan Collins, Elsie Bremell; Wilfred Courtier; Reginald Snow

Standard IV: Marjorie Sharland ; C. Dicker; John Yeo; Dick Rowe

Standard V: Kate  Betry; Nellie Weeks; Bertram Holman; P. Fitzpatrick

Standard VI: Joyce Randle; Marjorie Weeks; Peter Gray

Standard VII: Gladys Rice; Edna Reed; Walter Dodd; John Proudlock

Attendance: Christine Stone; A. Boyce; E. Boyes; G. Cann; M. Nickels

Progress: A. Bennett; D. Boyce; B. Sampson.

Rector's Prize: Gladys Rice

Mr. Haytor-Haines prize: John Proudlock.


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page