^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Cheriton Fitzpaine belonged to the Hundred of West Budleigh

The original spelling has been preserved

Edward Back Christopher Hardying Philip Pounsford
John Bamsend Francis Hardyng Robert Quick
Mark Bamsend Bennett Hill George Raw
John Bartlet Roger Hockaland John Raw
Richard Beare Andrew Hole Robert Rawling
Robert Bond George Hole William Reynold jun.
John Bowden Robert Hole Bartholomew Reynolds
Philip Bridgman John Hookway John Reynolds
John Burnard William Hookway William Reynolds of Poole
George Cade Andrew Huish William Reynolds of Budle
John Camp John Huish sen William Rudge
Ambrose Carpenter John Huish jun Christopher Roberts
Ambrose Carpenter jun Richard Huish  Philip Rock
Giles Carpenter William Huish Richard Sanders
Jon Carpenter John Jestine John Saunders jun
William Carpenter Mark Jestine Roger Saunders
Jacob Chanon John Jestyne Roger Saunders jun
Henry Clarke Matthew Johnstyn Andrew Scut
Andrew Clogg John Kentesbeere Robert Scut
John Clogg Robert Kentesbeere Robert Shapcot
Richard Clogg Clement Kerslake John Short
Robert Clogg Francis Kerslake John Short jun
William Clogg George Labdon Richard Short
Henry Cockram William Labdon Richard Smart
John Cockram Roger Lake James Smith
Thomas Coles John Langham Austin Snow
Daniel Cop Peter Langham John Snow
Anthony Cowde Richard Langham John Snow jun
George Cruse Richard Langham Robert Snow
Thomas Cudmore Stephen Langham John Soper
Mary Davy ? Langham Mr Humphrey Southcot
George Dennys Nicholas Langworthy Bennett Staddon
Walter Downe Nicholas Lea Nicholas Stokes
Robert Drew Robert Lear Andrew Taildram
Peter Frost Giles Lee Andrew Tailor
Robert Frost William Lee Andrew Tailor
Abraham Furesdon David Leigh Francis Tailor
William Fursedon Henry Lour George Tailor
John Gard William Lovel Henry Tailor
John Gibbs sen. James Manly Richard Tailor
John Gibbs jun John Manly sen Richard Tailor
Philip Gill Roger Manly Thomas Tailor
John Gitson Richard Marshall William Tailor
George Glann Thomas Marshall Andrew Tapp
Bartholomew Glanvill Roger Martin Justinian Tompson
Benedict Glanvill Robert Matthew Tristram Townsend
Richard Glanvill William Matthews Daniel Tucker
Richard Glanvill Andrew Maunder Henry Tucker
William Glanvill George Maunder Toby Tucker
James Gore Humphrey Maunder William Tucker
James Gore jun Matthew Middleweek Richard Vicary
James Gore jun Matthew Money Robert Vicary
Christopher Gover Matthew Money jun John Voysey sen.
Richard Gover Richard Money William Voysey jun
Francis Granland Thomas Money Robert Voysey
Mark Gribble Peter Moone John Voysey jun
Lewis Grudgery Edward Moore Austin Wattes
Peter Grudgery John Morrell John Webber
Simon Ham Alexander Morrish Richard Whetrow
Walter Harris Andrew Paine David Whiddon
Thomas Hawksland John Parker Thomas Woodley
Richard Heard Thomas Petherick David Woodrowe
George Heathman Roger Pitts John Wootten
Robert Hedgland Joseph Pope Richard Worth
Arthur Hardyng John Pounsford George Zellake

(A surprising number of the names above are signatures

All of the name below are signatures)

Nathaniel Durant - Rector

John Sanders - Constable

Hugh Watten - Churchwarden

William Heysey - Overseer


* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page