^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Chittlehampton belonged to the Hundred of South Molton

(The original spelling has  been retained)

Arthur Ackland, Gent John Cawsey Emmanuel Dulinge
Arthur Acland, Gent Simon Cawsey sen Thomas Durdon
Baldwin Acland, Gent Simon Cawsey jun. William Durdon
Baldwin Acland, Gent Simon Cawsey John Dyer (in town)
Anthony Allen Bartholomew Champion John Dyer
James Allen Anthony Chappell Richard Elberry
John Avery Anthony Chappell John Ferrett
John Baker Christopher Chappell John Ferrett
Thomas Baker Joachim Chappell Robert Ferrett
David Bater John Chappell Arthur Fewing
John Bater Tyball Chappell, Gent Henry Fletcher
William Beare William Chappell Roger Fletcher
Andrew Beare Thomas Chapple, Gent Francis Foord
Christopher Beere John Cole John Foord
Hugh Beere Peter Cole Oliver Foord
John Beere John Cornish Andrew Foorde
Robert Beere Humphrey Couch Edward Foorde
Thomas Beere John Couch William Forde
William Beere Thomas Couch Amias Fowke
William Beere Thomas Couch jun. John Fraine
Lewis Bendell John Crang John Frye
Arthur Berrill John Cranmer William Gammon 
Robert Blake, Clerk Robert Crispin John Geaton Esq
William Blake Richard Curry John Geaton
George Bowden Jonathan Curtise William German
Richard Bowden Roger Dalling sen Arthur Giffard Gent
John Bowdon sen. Roger Dalling jun John Giffard Esq.
John Bowdon Humphrey Darracott Anthony Glowen
Peter Bowdon John Darracott Lewis Goold
Simon Bragg William Darracott John Goule
Edward Brailey Elkanah Davey John Goule jun.
George Brailey Evan Davy Lewis Goule sen
John Brailey Lewis Davey Lewis Goule jun.
William Brayley Rice Davey Matthew Goule
Charles Bright Roger Davey John Graddon
John Bright William Davey Anthony Gread
Robert Bright Hugh Dew Lewis Gread
Thomas Bright  Gregory Dier Thomas Gread
Arthur Broughton, Gent Hugh Dier Edmond Gregory
Christopher Budd Thomas Ditchett Henry Gregory
Henry Budd William Ditchett Matthew Gregory
John Budd Alexander Dobbe Richard Gregory
Samuel Budd John Dobbe William Gregory
Humphrey Butler Stephen Douch Thomas Griffith
John Caarder Anthony Downe Thomas Griffith
Robert Carder Michael Downe William Griffith
Thomas Carder William Downe Arthur Halse
Arthur Cawsey John Draper John Halse, sen, Gent
Henry Cawsey John Drew John Halse, jun, Gent
John Cawsey James Duling Robert Handford
John Cawsey John Dulinge Robert Hanford


*For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page