^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Chivelstone belonged to the Hundred of Coleridge

The original spelling has been preserved

John Abraham James Edwards John Pearse
Robert Abraham Thomas Edwards William Perrett
Hugh Andrews Thomas Ellis Andrew Pethebridge
Philip Austinge Hugh Garland Nicholas Phillip
William Beale Isaac Gould Richard Phillipp
John Beard Thomas Gould William Phillip[
Roger Beard Nathaniel Grant Thomas Pinwell
Walter Beard Ellis Grante George Pound
Peter Boole George Halse George Pound
William Bovey Francis Hamley Thomas Pound
John Buckingham John Hamley Richard Reynell
Peter Burgine Richard Hardie sen John Scoble
John Caine Richard Hardie jun Edward Snowden
Thomas Caine John Havneden Stephen Spotditch
Crispin Chope Peter Havenden Peter Stidston
James Chope Robert Horseman Elias Stone
Jasper Chope John Jellard George Stone
John Chope Thomas Jellard William Strawe
Peter Chope William Jellard Riochard Tippett
Roger Chope Christopher Jillard William Tippett
William Chope sen. John Jillard John Tooker
William Chope jun Nicholas Jillard James Torrin
William Chope jun. William Jillard Philip Torring
William Chope Richard Johnson William Torringe
John Cole John Kingston William Troute
Roger Colling Nicholas Life John Tucker sen
Peter Collinge Thomas Lovell John Tucker jun
Richard Collinge Philip Luest John Watts
William Collinge Peter Maddicke Nicholas Watts sen.
Richard Comtinge William Maddicke Nicholas Watts jun
William Comtinge sen John March sen Robert Watts
William Comtinge John March jun John Watts
Philip Dearve Stephen March William Weekes
Christopher Donne John Meade Michael Wills sen
Richard Dure John Pannton Michael Wills jun
George Eals Nicholas Pannton John Winchester
John Eals William Parkehouse Peter Winchester
Christopher Earle William Pattridge Robert Yeab
William Edwardes Michale Pattridge - - -


* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page