^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.

On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".

They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.

We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Colebrooke belonged to the Hundred of  Crediton

The original spelling has been preserved

James Abther
James Gritton
Benjamin Rewe
John Avery
Edward Halsey
John Rooke
William Ayshe
Samuel Hamlyey
Matthew Row
Laurence Bradford
Robert Harris
Robert Rowe
Walter Baker
John Heale
William Saunders
Samson Bale
John Heale
William Saunders
Richard Ballamy
John Heale
William Shalson
John Ballamye
Robert Heddon
Thomas Sheet
George Barrye
Robert Hederick
William Shilson
William Belt
William Heard
Richard Skinner
John Bewes
Mark Helmar
Roger Skinner
George Bishop
John Hidsley
George Snell
Peter Bishop
George Hill
Robert Snell
William Blowet
Thomas Hill
Benjamin Sothbridge
Christopher Bolt
Hugh Hithiledge
John Spencer
Henry Bolt
Thomas Hodgland
Thomas Spenser
Tristram Bolt
Humphrey Hole
Thomas Spenser
Richard Boast
John Hole
William Spenser
Amos Bray
John Hole
William Spurwaye
Henry Bray
Bennett Hoop
Edmund Staddon
John Brocke
Christopher Hoop
Henry Staddon
John Brownscombe
Geoffrey Hore
Robert Steere
John Browne
John Horwel
William Stone
Bennett  Burow 
John Hunt
Roger Swadell
Humphrey Burt
John Inn
George Tanninge
William Canne
John Jegones
Richard Torche
Samuel Challyng
William Joones
John Toymet
Ralph Clashe
Ruchard Juel
Richard Tozer
Tristram Cox
John Julian
John Tremlet
Henry Cudlapp
Samuel Kensal
John Trocke
Robert Daggerye
William Knapman
John Trow
Mark Davie
Matthew Lacke
Lewis Tucker
John Davye
Mark Lanes
Peter Tucker
Roger Dayman
Bartholomew Lencombe
Roger Tucker
John Dode
John Lendon
Thomas Tucker
John Doggery
Thomas Leybridge
William Tuckfeild
Rowland Dring
Henry Luddon
John Venecombe
Amos Eastabrooke
Thomas Marden
William Venecombe
Emmanuel Eastabrooke
John Markmer
Henry Vinicombe
John Eastabrooke
Henry Martin
Roger Vinicombe
Stephen Eastabrooke
John Marwood
William Vinicombe
Christopher Eaves
Thomas May
John Waringe
John Erewent
James Milton
Bennett Warren
Robert Fish
Peter Moore
Hugh Warren
John Fletcher
John Newcombe
George Wetherell
Robert Frest
Thomas Paule
Christopher White
Matthew Frost
William Peason
William White
Ralph Frost
John Peend
William White
Robert Frost
Thomas Philpe
John Wickett
Richard Frye
Giles Preist
John Willson
Edward Ganson
John Pry jun
Thomas Wilson
William Gashe
John Prye sen.
William Winson
Christopher Goose
Richard Prye
Hannibal Wonson
Henry Graith
Richard Rafe
William Yendell
Roger Gres
John Reeve
John Yeo
Thomas Gribble
Gilbert Reewe
John Yonge

(All the above names written in the same hand - the following seven are signatures)

Christopher Eaton - Vicar

Thomas Venecombe - Churchwarden

Willis Bruton - Churchwarden

Mark Venecombe - Constable

Nathaniel Dasham - Constable

John Ballamy - Overseer

William Turnell - Overseer


* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purposes.



^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page