^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.

On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".

They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.

We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.and grouped in Hundreds*

The parish of Cornworthy belonged to the Hundred of Coleridge

The original spelling has been retained

Samuel Bally Simon Harrydon William Price jun.
James Beere Tristram Harrydon Nicholas Prolle
John Berry John Heale Robert Reed
William Berrye Richard Heath John Richards
John Bottell Philip Herswell Richard Richards
robert Brewse John Holdich David Salter
Humphrey Browne William Holdich Christopher Sharpham
James Browne Emmanuel Homfre Leonbard Sharron
John Browne John Hoopper Richard Skinner
Samuel Buller Benjamin Hospur Robert Skyner
George Chilson Henry Lake Christopher Sorryour
Robewrt Cocke Peter Langston Robert Sorryour
Edward Cooke Giles Lawes Edward Sorryour
John Cornhill John Lee Henry Sounde
Matthew Coroler John Letterey Richard Swingborne
Bernard Courties William Loy Robert Tend
John Courties jun. Edward Loyer Robert Tockerman
William Crebyour William Loyer Francis Tookerman
Edward Dammerell Edward Luckham Leonard Townsin
George Davie Thomas Luckham John Tuckerman
Samuel Downe Edward Luke William Uttery
Timothy Dowse George Luke sen. George Vettery
Richard Earell James Luke Walter Wackeham
Edward Edmond Christopher Lynes Edward Wasom
Richard Edmond Joseph Meadow Elias Waymouth
Thomas Edmond Timothy Mekell James Waymouth
Richard Edmont Peter Minnerd John Waymouth
William Edmont Henry Narrycote Peter Waymouth
Thomas Effor Stephen Naymouth Philip Waymouth
Christopher Efford John Newbay Valentine Waymouth
John Efford Thomas Nicholes Christopher Wayne
John Efford William Nickoll William Whiddon
Richard Efford Edward Nickcols Edward White
Robert Efford George Pate John White
Robert Efford Robert Peeke Philip White
Samuel Efford Edward Penney Thomas White
William Efford Edward Penny William Whyte
Philip Elliout John Penny Francis Wilcott
John Ford Philip Penny John Woodford
Richard Ford William Penny Richard Woodford
Edward Fortescue John Perrett Stephen Woodford
Henry Fortescue Richard Perrott John Wolson
Nicholas Fostere Robert Perrott Robert Wolson
William Francis Stephen Perrott Edward Wootton
Richard Frannces Andrew Perryn Richard Wotton
Lewis Gyll John Perryn John Yeabley
Thomas Gyll Walter Poolinge Oliver Yealcomb
Thomas Hale Edward Prall Thomas Yealshe
James Hannaford William Price Henry Yearell

William Amyott - Curate

John Perrott - Constable

William Efford - Constable

Phillip Harradon - Churchwarden

Philip Peeke - Churchwarden

William Efford - Overseer

Thomas Richards - Overseer

* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.
Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page