^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials


By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.

On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".

They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.

We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named. 

 A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.

The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Georgeham belonged to the Hundred of Braunton

(The original spelling has  been retained)

Richard Addams Thomas Gammon John Reede
William Addams John Geenes Lewis Reede
Richard Arrundell Lewis Grone John Richards
John Baglehole Philip Halls John Richards
Edward Bagtor Stephen Halls Nicholas Roberts
Paul Bagtor Stephen Halls John Roger
George Baker Humphrey Hancock Richard Roger
Humphrey Baker Mr Nicholas Harper Stephen Roger
John Baker John Harris Toby Roger
John Baker Thomas Harris Christopher Rogers
|John Baker George Hartnoll John Rogers
John Baker John Hartnoll William Rogers
John Baker Nicholas Hartnoll George Scampe
John Baker Richard Hartnoll Richard Scampe
Robert Baker George Heddon Thomas Scampe
Lewis Barnard John Heddon Henry Scott
Lewis Barnard Robert Heddon Richard Searle
John Barne George Heywarde Bartholomew Simons
William Barne John Hill John Simmons
Hugh Barrett George Hone Richard Smyth
Philip Bishoppe John Hone Richard Smyth
Bartholomew Booden John Hooe George Sneete
John Booden John Horwood Thomas Sparman
John Booden Edmund Hutchins Gregory Stapledon
John Booden George Jenkin John Stapledon
William Booden Bartholomew King Anthony Stuckly
John Burrow James King George Sweete
George Clarke Laurence Knill James Sweete
Richard Clarkes Philip Knill Matthew Sweete
John Clemment John Langdon  Nicholas Sweete
John Clemment Davy Lewes Richard Sweete
Richard Clemmant Roger Ley Richard Sweete
George Cloutman George Litle Robert Sweete
James Cock Richard Litle John Tallen
Anthony Cocke Anthony Litson Matthew Thomas
Griffith Cole Richard May William Thorne
Thomas Coney Tristram Meane Henry Tooker
Arthur Coney John Newcourt Esq. James Tooker
Arthur Courtney Mr Peter Nichol James Tooker
Bartholomew Courtney William Nicholls John Tooker
George Courtney George Parker John Tooker
George Courtney George Pearde John Tooker
Humphrey Courtney Mr. John Pearde Paul Tooker
James Courtney Richard Pearde Toby Tooker
John Courtney George Perreman Richard Toppe
Richard Courtney George Perreman Tristram Toppe
Robert Courtney George Perreman Thomas Trensmore
Thomas Courtney John Perreman John Tuckie
Edmund Croscombe John Perreman Anthony Upcott
James Croscombe Thomas Perreman John Upcott
Richard Croscombe Bartholomew Perrin Philip Walter
Thomas Croscombe Bartholomew Perrin Philip Warde
William Croscombe Edward Perrin Bartholomew Watts
Phillip Dallen John Perrin Henry Watts
George Daniell John Perrin John Watts
Thomas Dease John Perrin Peter Webber
John Dennis Richard Philip Edmund Wheddon
Thomas Dockins Anthony Phillips Walter White
Richard Eastman George Phillips Alexander Wilkie
Robert Eastman Thomas Phillips Henry Wilkie
William Elliott William Preson Henry Wilkie
Edmund Ellott Charles Rashley John Wilkie
John Ellott Christopher Rashley Richard Wilkie
John Ferchilde Christopher Rashley Richard Wilkie
John Floyd Christopher Rashley William Williams
Lewis Fosse John Rashley John Wood
Richard Fosse John Rashley John Yollaton
Edward Gammon Walter Rashley ---
John Gammon William Rashley ---

(The following names are in the same hand)

John Berrye - Rector

George Sweete - Constable

Edmund Ellot - Churchwarden

John Harry - Churchwarden

Nicholas Harper - Overseer

John Took - Overseer

*For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.

Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library.

Courtesy of Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page