^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Heanton Punchardon belonged to the Hundred of Braunton

The original spelling has been preserved

Nicholas Arscott John Emlen Thomas Morish
Charles Baker Thomas Emlyn Thomas Neale
Henry Baker Jenkin Floyd Richard Paking
Richard Baker Thomas French William Pammery
Robert Baker Thomas George Christopher Pamry
Tobias Baker Matthew Gloing Edward Pasmore
James Barehouse William Goole, sen. George Pasmore
Richard Barnehouse William Goole, jun. James Pasmore
William Barnehouse John Gorge Thomas Phillip
Richard Berill Thomas Gorge Philip Pyne
Scipio Berill William Gorge Lewis Quance
John Blackemore Mr Docter Hackman William Quance
William Brimley John Hackwill Arthur Raspe jun.
John Brooke John Hammott William Reckett
Hannibal Burgesse Nicholas Hammott Richard Reed
Thomas Camming Alexander Hamont John Richards
Thomas Caverlei Hugh Hamont Laurence Rid
Arthur Cawse Rees Harrise Ralph Ridd
George Clarcke Rice Heane William Ridd
John Clarke sen. George Heaward Richard Saunders
John Clarke jun. John Heaward Robert Saunders
Philip Clarke Thomas Heaward Esten Scampe
John Cloutman James Hood Walter Score
William Cloutman Nicholas Hoop sen. Tobias Scott
William Coats Nicholas Hoop jun. Edward Simons
Bartholomew Cocke Arthur Hooper sen. Lewis Simons
John Cocke Arthur Hooper, jun Laurence Sparkewell
Alexander Courtis Philip Hooper Alexander Stoate
John Courtis William Hooper Geoffrey Stoate
Philip Courtis Humphrey Horne George Stoate
John Crapt Thomas Howse Richard Stoate
Michael Crapt John Hucstable Faithful Steeven
Thomas Crapt John Hylsworthy John Summer
Richard Cricks Thomas Jones Philip Summer
John Crocker James Jucledon Richard Symons
Alexander Dalling John Jucledon Charles Tamlen
James Dalling William Jucledon David Toocker
John Dankins Lewis Jucoldon George Wealen
Marj Darracott Matthew Keene Philip Whitefield
Hocken Dave Edward Langdon Ralph Wilkey
Richard Davie George Langdon Roger Williams
Philip Dennis John Langdon Rowland Williams
John Dillin George Lyde Davy Williames
Mr Robert Dillin George Mander Robert Wodly
John Downeman John Matewes Thomas Wood
Thomas Downeman Richard Mirricke William Woulson
Daniel Dyer John Mocke -
George Dyer Robert Mocke -


* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.

Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page