^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials


By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.

On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".

They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.

We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.

The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Hockworthy belonged to the Hundred of  Bampton

The original spelling has been preserved

Francis Alline George Gollman John Norman
Ambrose Bence William Gollman William Normand
Richard Braye John Gomer William Sander
Robert Braye John Goodine George Shordland
Richard Burdge Thomas Goolde Nicholas Shordland sen.
George Chamberline Thomas Gowline Nicholas Shordland jun.
Thomas Chamberline Hugh Heird Peter Shordland
Richard Chrase Thomas Herde Augustine Stone
Thomas Chrase John Hill Christopher Stone
Humphrey Collman Nicholas Hill Hugh Stone
Nicholas Collman John Jugerime Humphrey Stone
Robert Collman William Jugerine Matthew Stone
John Cornishman Thomas Larscumbe Edward Waterman
John Cupdrue Thomas Latch Henry Watermen
William David Richard Locke Ellis Webber
Rostmas Donne William Marshall John Willcokes
Matthew Dyer Richard Morse Dennis Wyett
Ralph Farthinge Richard Morse - - - -

John Catford - Vicar

Nicholas Stephen - Constable

John Osmond - Churchwarden

Henry Stephen  - Overseer

(The above four names in the same hand)

* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.

^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page