^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Ilsington belonged to the Hundred* of Teignbridge

The original spelling has been preserved

John Archer William Ford William Quaston
Josias Archer Hugh Forde William Quoysh
Valentine Archer Edward Furlong sen William Randle
Robert Andrewe Edward Furlong jun Henry Rosewill
Edward Arther Thomas Furse Francis Rowell sen
Hugh Arther William French Francis Rowell jun
Abel Baker Edward Giffard John Rowell
Richard Bartlett John Gifford sen Miles Rowland
William Bickford John Gifford jun Emmanuel Sellacke
Gregory Bowdon John Gifford Richard Sellacke sen
Henry Bowdon William Gifford Richard Sellacke jun
Hugh Bowdon sen. John Goosewill Thomas Sellacke
Hugh Bowdon jun. Josias Grible William Sellacke
James Bowdon Richard Grible John Sheere sen
John Bowdon John Grideford John Sheer jun
Thomas Bowdon Nicholas Gunson Josias Sheere
Thomas Bowdon Peter Harell John Smale
William Bowdon Richard Harell Hugh Smerdon
Alexander Bownd Humphrey Harris Robert Smerdon
Christopher Bownd William Harris William Smerdon
Robert Brookins Henry Harte Hugh Stancomb
Hugh Bruseigh John Hayward Richard Stancomb sen
James Bruseigh Richard Hayward Richard Stancomb jun
John Bruseigh sen William Hayward James Symons
John Bruseigh Henry Hill John Symons
John Bruseigh Richard Hilling Pasco Symons
Thomas Bruseigh Richard Hingston John Tambling
Robert Burte John Hore Austin Taylor
William Carpenter Philip Juell Avery Taylor
Richard Carrewe John Kingford sen. Edward Taylor
John Casely John Kingford jun. Eliza Taylor
Valentine Catler Henry Lambsmead George Taylor
John Chamberlaine Hugh Lambsmead Hugh Taylor
Thomas Chamberlaine Thomas Lambsmead James Taylor
Thomas Chamberlaine Richard Langworthy John Taylor
William Chefills John Langworthye Richard Taylor
Eliza Christopher Thomas Langworthye William Taylor
Thomas Christopher George Lascomb Richard Tooker
Thomas Colridge Edward Leate William Vallance
William Coose Thomas Leate William Walter
Hannibal Corbyn William Leate Tristram Watts
John Couch William Loscomb Edmund Weeger
Richard Couch Thomas Luscomb Luke Weeger
Walter Couch William Luscomb Richard Weeger
Nicholas Crible Bartholomew Man Thomas Weeger
Richard Crossing Richard Man Edmund Westout
Robert Cruse jun Thomas Mayior Richard Wiger
Hugh Degon sen Bartholomew Northway John Willes
Hugh Degon jun William Northwaye Thomas Willes
John Downe Henry Nosworthye Alexander Withecomb sen
William Easton Walter Paddon Alexander Withecomb jun
Nicholas Endacot Nicholas Peeke John Withecomb
Thomas Endacot Oliver Perryman Richard Withecom jun
William Endacot Thomas Perryman Thomas Withecomb
Edward Ford gent John Pinsent Richard Woolcot
Henry Ford David Pooke John Woollcott
Thomas Ford gent James Preston Nicholas Wooton
Thomas Ford jun Richard Preston Andrew Windyeat

(The above names are in the same hand, the following five are signatures)

Signed by 

Robert Dove - Vicar

Thomas Northway - Constable

Richard Widdecombe - Constable

John Wotton - Churchwarden

Nathaniel Bickford - Churchwarden

* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.

Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page