^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


Ipplepen parish belonged to the Hundred of Haytor*

(The original spelling has  been retained)

Richard Abraham John Dottinge jnr. Thomas Perce
John Barter snr. John Dottinge Edward Peryman
John Barter jnr. Nicholas Dottinge Richard Peter
John Barter Nicholas Dottinge Samuel Peter
John Beere Thomas Dottinge Thomas Phillips
John Berryman Geoffrey Eaton Richard Pottell
Benjamin Bickford Richard Eaton Palalia Prest
Peter Bickford Thomas Eaton Andrew Preston
William Blackdon William Edgcomb Arthur Preston
William Bodly Roger Ewens Nicholas Preston
Anthony Bound Walter Ewens Roger Preston
Christopher Bound Peter Ewenes Walter Preston
John Bound John Falabus John Putt
Peter Bound John Fallabus jnr. George Robarts
Walter Bound Samuel Fallabus Richard Rondell
William Bound Henry Full snr. Robert Rondell
Edward Bulley Henry Full jnr. Leonard Rowe
Gilbert Bulley Thomas Gale David Salter snr.
John Bulley Matthew Gliner David Salter jnr.
John Bulley jnr. Samuel Gosse Gilbert Salter
Philip Bulley John Hachwill John Salter
Samuel Bulley Peter Hamling Samuel Salter
Samuel Bulley jnr. Arthur Harris Robert Share
Thomas Bulley Roger Harriss Henry Sheere
Thomas Bulley Anthony Hatchwill Thomas Sheere jnr.
William Bulley Hugh Heare Thomas Shere
John Carell sen. Thomas Heere Walter Simons
John Carell.jun. Walter Hillechap Ambrose Snell
Walter Chappell Robert Hinckston John Snell
John Churchwill John Hollocom Thomas Snell
Peter Churchwill Andrew Jacob William Snell
Samuel Churchwill Giles Jane William Sonders
Thomas Churchwill Otho Jane John Speere
William Clace William Kempe David Steere
Robert Clay Henry Kinge Gilbert Stephins
Samuel Codner John Lane Richard Stephins
Andrew Colcott John Langdon Thomas Stephins
William Colcott John Langmead snr. Thomas Stephins jnr.
Christopher Cole John Langmead jnr. William Stephins
John Cole Richard Langmead Nicholas Thomas
Richard Cole Thomas Langmead John Tozer
Richard Cole Langmead William Tucker
Samuel Cole John Lupen John Turpinge
Nicholas Colloner William Lymbere William Turpinge
David Colloton Christopher Man Thomas Upton
John Colloton Mark Mann John Venninge
Nicholas Colloton sen. William Mann Andrew Voysey
Nicholas Colloton jnr. William Mathew Edward Voysey
Roger Cowell Richard Metherell Walter Voysey
John Cowle William Metherell Stephen Walter
Thomas Cowle Geoffrey Midwinter John Wattes
Peter Cragg Abraham Nicholl John Weare
Richard Crossinge William Norracott Nicholas Webber
William Crossinge Richard Norwood Thomas Weekes
Robert Cuttener Christopher Osborne John Whiddon
Edward Dammerell John Osborne Richard Whitere
John Dashper sen. Michael Osborne William Whittway
John Dashper jnr. Michael Osborne jnr. John Windeatt
John Dashper jnr. Samuel Osborne Clifford Windett
Thomas Dashper John Palke Nicholas Windett
Nicholas Dipford John Palke John Windon
Alexander Dodge Peter Palke Robert Wise
Hugh Dottinge William Palke Christopher Wood
John Dottinge snr. John Perce William Wood

Signed by 

William Gibbs - Vicar

Edward Bulley - Constable

Roger Ewens - Constable

Mr. Thomas Upton - Churchwarden

Geoffrey Midwinter - Churchwarden

John Barter snr. - Overseer

Samuel Osborne - Overseer


*For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.


Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page