^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Kentisbeare belonged to the Hundred of Hayridge

The original spelling has been preserved

Samuel Alline Humphrey Harris Stephen Paulle
James Baker John Harris George Peerse
John Baker Thomas Harris Phillip Pepereill
Mark Baker Christopher Hatchwell Robert Pepperill
Nathaniel Baker John Heckes Edmund Persons
Robert Baker Edward Hellwill John Pin
John Balle sen Anthony Henson John Pine
John Balle jun Anthony Henson John Pine
Robert Balle Humphrey Henson John Pococke
 William Barrell Simon Hidon sen Philip Ponsford
Sander Barence Simon Hidon jun Thomas Prisis
Christopher Batson George Hill John Pringe
John Battinge Giles Hill Peter Reade
John Bennet Henry Hill William Piper
Peter Bennet John Hill George Roch
Robert Benett Mark Hill John Rogers
Edward Berrie William Hill Peter Rowe
William Boeby Francis Holt Robert Rowe
Lewis Broademeade Walter Hopkines Roger Rowe
George Brooke Robert Howlaye Roger Rowe
John Brooke jun Thomas Hucker Thomas Rolam
John Brooke sen. John Hunte Edward Rowland
Lewis Brooke John James Gwainge Rowland
Robert Brooke Peter James George Rowland
Nicholas Broome William James James Rowland
Henry Browne George Janslinge James Rowland
John Browne John Janslinge Nathaniel Rowland
John Browninge Humphrey Jerwoode Richard Rowland
John Buishop Thomas Jerwoode Richard Russe
Anthony Burch Thomas Jerwoode Robert Sallter
John Butler Henry Jonslinge William Sallter
Laurence Butler Remant Joslinge William Sallter
Thomas Butler William Jonslinge John Salter sen
William Butler Thomas Joylife John Salter jun
Edward Butson Edward Joyse John Shackell
Edward Butson Edward Kassell Thomas Shackell
George Butson Gregory Kent John Shapton
John Butson sen. William Kingston Peter Shapton
John Butson George Knight Robert Shapton
Robert Butson John Knight William Shapton sen
Thomas Butson Bartholomew Knighte William Shapton jun
William Butson Henry Knighte Mark Shiles
John Can James Knighte William Shute
William Can Mark Knighte Richard Sparkell
William Cherriton Leonard Knighte Richard Sparkell
Henry Chooish Humphrey Lainge Valentine Squier
John Chollish Richard Lane William Starke
Robert Chollish Richard Locke Anthony Strete
Walter Chollish Ralph Loftinge Richard Surridge
Thomas Collerd James Luscombe Alexander Sweete
Hugh Collman Henry Manly George Tanner
Humphrey Collman Robert Manly Robert Templer
Robert Colmas Simon Manninge Johnson Tench
Edmund Combe Abraham Mathew John Tench jun.
George Combe Robert Mathew John Thomas
John Combe William Meddleton Roger Thomas
William Combe Robert Menifie Henry Thorne
Matthew Coocke Anthony Merson Thomas Tooke
Philip Coome Bartholomew Merson George Trapnell
Edmund Crosse Francis Merson Henry Tucker
Edward dagworthy Robert Merson Edward Vafforie
William dagworthy Thomas Midlton Thomas Vine
John Davie Francis Mill John Wall
Theophilus Davie Henry Mill Edmund Walle
Thomas Davie Humphrey Mill Francis Walle
Geoffrey Davy Robert Mill William Walle
Martin Dibble Robert Mill Philip Walker
John Dill John Milles Laurence Waringe
Bartholomew Dodge John Milles John Warren
Humphrey Didridredg Thomas Mondaye Christopher Waterman
Ambrose Done Samuel Morrish Thomas Waterman
Nicholas Dewdney Robert Mountstephen Ralph Waye
Lancelot Dudney John Murch John Wellman
James Dyer John Norman Alexander West
John Dyer Richard Northam Henry Westcombe
Abraham Endicote John Norton Thomas Wheton
Humphrey Endicote Charles Oaten Henry Whitrowe
Robert Endicote Edward Osmond James Williams
Zachary Endicote Nicholas Osmond George Williams
Zachary Endicote jun. Reynold Osmond George Willson
Edward Enghild Robert Osmond George Willson
John Facye Anthony Otwaye Philip Winter
Peter Flew George Otwaye Philip Winter
John Fooste John Paddon Henry Wood
John Graves Philip Paine John Wood
Joseph Goolle Peter Palmer George Woode
Robert Greene Robert Parker John Woodhowse
Edwadr Greffin William Parker Peter Woodrowe
John Hackam Peter Parsons Peter Woodrow
William Hackewaye James Paulle Charles Wotton
Francis Harris Robert Paulle -
(The above are in the same hand, the following are signatures)

Robert Papsons - Rector

Thomas Butson - Constable

John Westlake - Constable

John Butson - Chruchwarden

? Mountsteven - Churchwarden

William James - Overseer

? Paynd - Overseer

William Shapp - Overseer

John Halman - Overseer


* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.

Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page