^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Returns were arranged by Parish

Dodbrooke parish belonged to the Hundred of Coleridge 


(The original spelling has  been retained)

Edward Auger George Fyle Andrew Pearse
John Auger John Hastings Robert Pearse
John Baker William Haustine William Peeke
Thomas Baker Walter Hausting William Peteworthy
William Baker Nicholas Haustinge William Pingay
William Barnard Daniel Hele William Pinhay
Thomas Barry William Hept Joseph Pireston
John Bartley John Hingston Thomas Pollard
Pasco Bartley George Hoole William Pulsmer
Thomas Bartley Giles Hore John Putt
William Bastard Thomas Horsman John Putt
Richard Bevell Thomas Horsman Philip Putt
Robert Bevell Andrew Horwill William Putt
John Bevill Hercules Hoyle William Putt
Philip Bickford Franklin Kinge John Rogers
William Blatchford John Kinge sen. Arthru Roope
John Bond John Kinge jun. James Roope
Benjamin Bound John Kinge James Roope
Andrew Bovey John Kinge Richard Roope
George Brockdon John Kinge Thomas Roope
Nicholas Brocke Henry Kingston John Seare
Robert Brocke Bartholomew Lane Arthur Sheere
George Campion Philip Lane Roger Smyth
John Campion Roger Lane William Snelling
John Chubb Richard Leonard Henry Terry
Joseph Collings Richard Lidstone William Tracie
Jesse Couch Philip Locke Nicholas Tracie
Richard Couch William Luccase Thomas Treble
Jonathan Cranmor John Luccrast William Treble
John Crimpe John Luscombe William Upton
Gilbert Crocker Erasmus Mallard William Veale
Robert Crocker Edward Manninge Edmund Warne
Robert Crocker Edward Mannynge Stephen Waymouth sen.
James Dackom Richard Mathew Stephen Waymouth
Henry Dench Stephen Mathew Adam White
William Dowling Thomas Milman William White
John Dyer John Mitchell William White
Nicholas Efford John Mitchell Josias Winter
James Elliott Richard Mitchell Mark Wood
Humphrey Elly Robert Mudge William Wood
George Ford Edward Munford Nicholas Woodmoson
Richard Foxe Robert Oane Philip Yeoman
Richard Furse Nicholas Palmer -
William Furse John Pannton -
No signatures follow this list which is in the same hand throughout


*For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.


Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page