^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.and grouped in Hundreds*

The parish of Kingsbridge belonged to the Hundred of Stanbridge

The original spelling has been retained

Christopher Adams James Gilberd William Pinwill
John Arlett John Gilberd Richard Potherne
Nicholas Arnell John Giles William Pressen
George Arther John Godreiffe Francis Quash
William Ball Robert Gray Richard Quash
John Barrett Richard Greene Thomas Quash
James Barry John Hardie Christopher Quint
John Barry John Harewell Thomas Richards
George Beare Andrew Harris Thomas Rider
Peter Bevill John Harward Thomas Risdon
John Blaze Richard Harwood William Robbins
James Bowen John Hatch Henry Rodes
Henry Bray John Haukins John Roger
Philip Brockendon John Hawes Stephen Rule
William Broone John Hill William Riule
Peter Browne Robert Hill Richard Samspon
Thomas Cause John Hodge James Skrech 
Robert Cawker Stephen Hodge James Skrech
Thomas Chiswill James Holditch Henry Smyth
Richard Clarke Thomas Horwell Ely Snellinge
Thomas Cleiffe William Horwill John Snellinge
William Cleiffe Otho House William Snellinge
Nicholas Collinge Walter Huxam Richard Square
Richard Collinge John Jott Walter Squire
William Collings Walter Kendall John Stidston
Thomas Costard Joseph Kent William Stoninge
Richard Cradon Leonard Kent John Strobridge
Hugh Crosman Tristram Kent William Strobridge
Lewis Davie Patrick Lamford Edmund Sunter
Peter Davie John Lapp Hugh Syms
Richard Davie John Lathetes George Tabb
George Deak George Leonard William Tawly
John Deaver George Lindon Richard Terry
Richard Denire George Lindon Roger Tippitt
Lewis Dier John Lindon sen. Richard Toms
Thomas Distam John Lindon jun. Nicholas Tripe
George Earle  Morgan Lisham William Trust
Alexander Edwards Nathaniel Lovell John Tucker
Daniel Elly Robert Mathew Thomas Vitory
William Face Hugh Milcombe Thomas Vittery
Thomas Facie Thomas Mole Geoffrey Wakeham
Stephen Fardeid George Norris Robert Werg
John Farnam Andrew Norris Nicholas White
Thomas Farnam Edward Pascho Arthur Whitinge
Stephen Fearde James Phillips Richard Wiatt
John Feareweather John Phillips John Yeab
Edmund Ford John Phillips Edward Yeabsley
John Ford Thomas Phillips Richard Yeo
William Franklin Peter Pinwill -
William Gay Peter Pinwill -
* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.
Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page