^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Loddiswell belonged to the Hundred of  Stanborough

The original spelling has been preserved

Philip Avant Richard Gillard Bartholomew Phillips
George Bale Millsom Goolden John Phillips
William Bande Edward Harward John Phillips
Angel Baron John Hatch John Phillips
Caleb Barrons Robert Hatch John Phillips
Richard Barrour Thomas Hatch John Phillips
Nicholas Barry Timothy Hinge John Phillips
Christopher Beale Roger Hurle sen John Phillips
John Beale Roger Hurle John Phillips
Pasco Beale William Hurrell Laurence Phillips
William Bevell Adam Hyne Roger Phillips
John Bernard Robert Hyne Nicholas Phillips
John Berry Richard Jarvis Nicholas Phillips
Richard Bevill Richard Jarvis Richard Phillips
William Bond Thomas Jarvis Simon Phillips
Richard Broadmead Thomas Jarvis Thomas Phillips
George Browne William Jarvis Thomas Phillipis
John Burt Walter Jugram Thomas Phillips
John Cause Robert Jugrom Walter Phillips
Henry Cayte Geoffrey Kinge John Preston
Henry Chiswill Geoffrey Kinge John Putt
John Churchill Henry Kinge Nicholas Putt
William Churchwill John Kinge Solomon Reeve
Anthony Ckeiffe John Kinge Henry Rich
James Coombe John Jinge Anthony Rider
John Coombe John Kinge Thomas Rider
Elizeus Craft John Kinge Roger Stabb
Thomas Dennis Thomas Kinge Thomas Stabb
Richard Derry George Knight Bartholomew Steere
Othes Dinnis Arthur Langworthy John Steere
Nicholas Elliott John Luccraft William Steere
Ro bert Elliott John Luccraft John Symons
Thomas Elliott John Luccraft William Tabb
Thomas Foord Nicholas Luccraft Francis Thorne
Thomas Ford Nicholas Luke Richard Thorne
John Foxworth Chritopher May John Trovis
John Francklinge George Merrifeild Andrew Veale
Christopher Friend James Morgan Jarvis Neale
Robert Friend John Norris Richard Veale
Richard Frood Silvester Norris Robert Veale
John Froode William Norris Randall Wakeham
Thomas Froode William Nowell John Ward
Edwqard Furlonge Stephen Oldreiffe William Ward
Francis Furlong sen William Oldreiffe Joseph Way
Francis Furlong jun Stephen Oldriffe John White
John Furlong James Parson Walter Wiatt
Roger Furlong John Parson Walter Woolston
John Geele sen Robert Pathridge Richard Wyatt
John Geele John Pearse -
(The above are all n the same hand,)


* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.

Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page