^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Lustleigh belonged to the Hundred of Teignbridge

The original spelling has been preserved

John Beare Leonard Elliott Bartholomew Nosworthy
Joseph Beare Daniel Ellyott John Nosworthy
George Berry John Foxwell Thomas Nosworthy
John Berry Robert Foxwell Thomas Potter
Gregory Brockdon John French William Potter
John Caseley William French Vincent Roper
William Casely Francis Grey Richard Satterly
Richard Casley John Grey Leonard Spry
Thomas Casley Nicholas Grey John Stancombe
Thomas Cobble John Groce John Tothill
Richard Colcher Thomas Hellyn John Turgis
George Coshe John Heyward William Turgis
William Cossins Thomas Jerman George Wills sen.
Barnard Crewse George Man George Wills jun.
Peter Croote Martin Millard Richard Wood
Richard Croote Thomas Miller John Worthlake
William Croote William Miller -

(The above names in the same hand, the following three are signatures)

Thomas Comyn - Rector

Gregory Whitborne - Constable

Stephen Berry - Constable


* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.

Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page