^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.

The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Marwood belonged to the Hundred of Braunton

The original spelling has been preserved

Giles Ackland John Frayne Simon Moone
Thomas Ackland Philip Fry Nicholas Parminter
William Ackland Evens Gammon Anthony Peard
John Baker George Gammon John Pearse
John Bale Jenkin Gammon John Phillips
Richard Bale Philip Gammon Henry Pits
William Band William Gammon Henry Pugsley
John Basse Arthur Garland gent John Rist
John Basset, gent. Eusebius Garland, gent Thomas Robins
Abraham Beare Roger Garland, gent William Scampe
Richard Beare Philip Gest George Slee
Davy Bennon Philip Getton Edward Smyth
Thomas Bennon John Gibbs, sen. John Snow
Bartholomew Berry John Gibbs, jun Humphrey Stanbury
Richard Berry, gent Achilles Gribble John Stanbury
Henry Bidder Anthony Griffin Lancelot Stanbury
William Bidder John Griffin William Stanbury
Richard Bidford John Griffin Richard Stoate
William Bowden Richard Grove Thomas Stoate
John Bright John Gub  sen. George Symons
Griffie Browne John Gubb jun Henry Symons
Thomas Browne Richard Hakine John Symons sen. 
Henry Bruton Richard Hamlyn John Symons
Henry Chantrell Ralph Hammot John Symons
John Chantrell Anthony Harres John Symons
Anthony Chaplyn Edward Harres John Symons jun.
Simon Chaplyn George Harres Philip Symons
Arthur Chichester, gent John Harres William Symons
John Chichester, gent Robert Harres William Symons
Walter Coate Jonathan Hartnoll William Symons jun
William Coates Thomas Harnoll Edward Tamlyn
John Cock John Hayward John Tamlyn
Nicholas Cock John Heale John Tamlyn
Peter Cock Baldwin Heddon Matthew Tamlyn
William Cock Samuel Heddon Matthew Tamlyn
Simon Conyber Philip Herrawill Peter Tamlyn
Adam Cornwall sen. William Herrwill Philip Tamlyn
Adam Cornwall jun. Anthony Herden Thomas Tamlyn
John Cornwall Philip Herden John Thorne
Nicholas Crocker James Hill sen. William Thorne sen.
Jenkin Davie James Hill jun. William Thorne jun
Jenkin Davie  Lewis Hissic Anthony Tooker
John Dier John Hoell Anthony Tooker
Robert Dier William Hopkins Ephraim Tooker
Edward Dodridge George Horwood George Tooker
Richard Downe, D D George How John Tooker
John Eastaway John How John Tooker, jun
Thomas Eastaway Thomas How Richard Tooker
George Eastment Thomas Kist John Virginall
John Elliot John Kneath Henry Walter
John Fairchild Robert Lake John Walter
Philip Fairchild John Lancie William Walter
Solomon Farichild Philip Lancie William Walter
William Fairchild Morgan Lucas Davy Williams
Andrew Fosse Philip Mape Evens Williams
Geoffrey Fosse Thomas May Matthew Williams
Gregory Fosse Richard Mayne Robert Willis
Henry Fosse Anthony Moone ----
John Fosse John Moone ----

(The above names are written in the same  hand;

the following are signatures)

Zachary Smith - Curate

John Stevens - High Constable

John Hawkes - Petty Constable

Oliver Tamlyn - Churchwarden

Christopher Nichole - Churchwarden

Edmund Eastment - Overseer

Oliver Harres - Overseer

John Hartnoll - Overseer

* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page