^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

The parish of Newton Abbot and Wolborough belonged to the Hundred of Haytor

(The original spelling has  been retained)

Edmund Adams John Garnesey Hugh Milman
Nicholas Agarr Richard Garnesey Robert Milward
James Alford William Garnesey Christopher Moore
George Avaree Gregory Gavarocke Simon Moore
William Avaree Robert Gavarocke Thomas Moore
Arthur Babb John Glanvill John Mowle
John Babb Richard Glanvill John Mugg
John Babb Thomas Glanvill John Mugg
Josias Babb Christopher Glasse John Nicholls
Nicholas Babb James Glasse Christopher Nickolls
John Baker Nicholas Glasse John Norraway
James Ball Andrew Gotham Peter Norraway
Thomas Ball Thomas Gotham Nicholas Nowell
Thomas Ball jun. John Gould Laurence Oliver
Thomas Bathe John Goure Laurence Oliver
John Beard John Gover Thomas Oliver
Thomas Beard William Graye John Osborne
George Beardon James Grigge William Osborne
Gilbert Beardon John Grigson William Oxenham
John Beardon sen. William Gulley Nicholas Parr
John Beardon Thomas Gulley John Paul
Lewis Beardon William Haley Philip Paul
William Beardon Peter Hamley Philip Pearce
William Beardon John Hamlin Richard Pope
Peter Bearne Andrew Hanniford Richard Preston
Robert Bearne William Harris Richard Price
Richard Bennett John Hart William Putt
Nicholas Bickford Josias Haycraft William Rackleiffe
George Birrles Gilbert Hayman John Reeve
Matthew Bizzard John Hayman Peter Rendle
John Blackaller Thomas Hayman Richard Rennolls
Matthew Blackdon John Hippesley Henry Reynell
Robert Blechinden Henry Hoare

*Richard Reynell 

Port Reeve

John Boles Nicholas Hoare Richard Reynell
Robert Boone John Hockinges George Richards
Roger Boone Henry Holland Robert Rolston
Silvester Bowden William Hooper Henry Rowe
Adrian Brice William Hutchins Richard Rowe
Thomas Bright Alan Hynes Edmund Russell
William Browne Barnard Jane Christopher Sampson
John Bulley John Jane John Sanders
Samuel Bulley Arthur Jenking Joseph Seeley
Richard Bushell John Kerton John Sexon
Walter Bushell William Kinge Robert Sexon
John Came Andrew Knight David Shapleigh
Gregory Cann Bartholomew Knight Thomas Shapley
Thomas Carpenter Bartholomew Knight jun. William Shapley
William Cawse Philip Knight John Shapter
John Chapple Ralph Knight Thomas Sheare
Nicholas Clampitt Simon Knight Richard Skynner
John Clouter Robert Lake George Snowe
Francis Codner John Lang Martin Snowe
John Codner George Langaller Simon Sowton
Nicholas Codnor George Langaller jun. John Starr
George Colcott Nicholas Langaller Richard Steart
John Colcott James Langdon Oliver Stephens
John Cole David Langworthey sen. William Stephens
John Coome David Langworthy Arnault Stequelin
Richard Coone Richard Langworthy Theophilus Stonman
Thomas Cornish Robert Laudie John Symons
John Coyle John Leare John Symons
Bartholomew Currey Alan Lee Lewis Symons
Matthew Damrell John Lee Samuel Symons
John Davie Robert Lee Edmund Tapper
Nicholas Davie Adrian Lobb Hugh Taverner
William Dench Henry Lobb Edward Tawton
Nicholas Doake Peter Locke Paris Thorne
Hugh Downinge Calvin Lorymer Christopher Tooker
James Downinge Henry Lorymer George Tothill
Thomas Drayton John Lorymer Robert Tozer
Peter Dyer Joseph Lorymer George Trosse, gent.
Christopher Easton Ralph Lorymer Robert Wallis
George Easton Michael Lowe Christopher Walter
Peter Easton Nicholas Lowe Francis Webber
Walter Egford Thomas Lowe Richard Webber
William Ellett John Lugge John Weeger
William Ellis Moses Lugge John White
John Escott Stephen Lutterney Thomas White
Simon Fabyan Robert Lymebear William Wincott
Simon Fabyan jun. Richard Martafoll Gilbert Windett
Peter Feild Joseph Massey Thomas Windett
Robert Ferris Richard Masters Gregory Wislake
Obidiah Ford Charles May John Wislake
Benedict Forde Henry Maye Thomas Wislake
William Forde Thomas Mayne Robert Wonston
John Freer Enoch Melhuish Richard Woolson
Laurence Fryer Christopher Miller John Woolston
Humphrey Furze William Miller -
* "Port Reeve" is an ancient office dating from Saxon times. Literally it means Keeper of the Port but it does not necessarily refer to ports by the sea; in those far-off days, the word  port referred to places which offered a safe haven for the storage of goods. Port Reeve has been likened to the more modern office of Mayor. 

Signed by 

Thomas Johnson - Minister

Thomas Boone - Churchwarden

Thomas Manyng - Churchwarden

John Selman - Constable

Thomas Voysey - Constable

Richard Maning - Overseer

Richard Vayman - Overseer

*For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.

Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page