^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Newton St. Cyres belonged to the Hundred of Crediton

The original spelling has been preserved

Edward Axhole Andrew Heard William Pitt
John Axholle James Heard Robert Please
James Bart Richard Heard Christopher Poop
William Bead Ralph Heard Edmund Poyseye
William Becaleg James Heliar John Predhame
Richard Bedwell John Heliar sen John Pridham
Henry Best Edmujnd Helmer John Pridham
Edward Bidwill Edmund Helmon Laurence Pridham
Humphrey Bidwill Thomas Helmore Nicholas Pridham
Thomas Blackadon Simon Hewood Roger Pridham
Walter Borrage Simon Higate William Pridham
Edward Bowenscombe John Hockway John Pulman
Edward Bradford John Hokins jun. Thomas Pulman
Nichoals Braggadon John Holes Thomas Quick
John Brimridge Christopher Holmead Andrew Quicke
Edward Brounscombe Robert Homes James Quicke
John Brounscombe John Honiwell Edward Radford
Philip Brounscombe John Hoovymead James Radford
Edmund Browne John How John Readstone
Edward Browne John Hubraye Robert Rease
Hugh Browne Thomas Hubrayne Giles Reed
John Browne John Hun John Reed
John Browne John Hunt Robert Reed
Lawrence Browne William Jerman Walter Reed
Walter Browne William Kimble Andrew Richards
John Browninge John Lake sen. James Ridwell
Gabriel Buckingham John Lake jun. Christopher Roberts
Henry Buckingham John Langbeare Edmund Roberts
Thomas Bunnstonn George Langbridge John Roberts jun
Francis Cann Henry Langman Edmund Roch
John Cann Richard Langman John Roch
Stephen Cann Hugh Langworthie James Rogers
William Coache Richard Langworthie Henry Roggers
Robert Cobley sen. Richard Lap Andrew Rose
James Cookes Edmund Ley Walter Sachett
Arthur Collings Roger Lingbeare Benjamin Sargent
Edward Comine John Loge Richard Saunder
Anthony Corney John Lucas Aughter Scott
John Cowlinge Anthony Lunt William Scott
William Cowlinge Edward Manlie Richard Seager
John Cowper Andrew Moggridge George Sercott
William Crisman Robert Moggridge Thomas Sercott
Jonas Crocker John Morrish Humphrey Sheapiard
Thomas Croott John Morrish William Shoobrooke
Walter Daacke William Morrish Simon Skiner
Ralph Dalley William Mortymer Robert Smith
Nicholas Drew John Northcott William Stonman
William Duder Walter Northcott Gilbert Strange
Holand Dun Richard Otes Peter Tooker
Henry Elles William Otes William Tooker
Laurence Esworthy Roger Parker John Townsend
John Fish William Parker Mark Townsend
Peter Fish Ellis Parsons Mark Townsend
Robert Flinson Edmund Payne Robert Towensend
Richard Ford George Payne William Towensend sen
Peter Fosse John Payne William Towensend jun
Peter Foweracers John Payne George Trustram
Thomas Fursman William Payne Emmanuel Tucker
Bennett Gall Laurence Pearace John Tucker
John Gelly Matthew Pearce Tristram Veoysey
Thomas Gey Diggory Pearse John Vincomb
Robert Glandfild John Pearse Anthony Wale
Mark Gorring Robert Pearse Christopher Wall
Bartholomew Gorringe jun Peter Pidsley John Waringe sen
John Gorringe William Pidslie John Waringe jun
William Gorringe Andrew Pitt John Weecke jun
James Griffin James Pitt Richard Wescott
William Grifinge John Pitt sen Hugh Weslane
Laurence harper John Pitt Thomas Weslawe
Lewis Harres John Pitt George Wislake
John Haukins Nicholas Pitt Edward Winter
Walter Haywond Thomas Pitt jun John Wrever

Thomas Kirkham, Valentine Sanders and Anthony Kirkham are recusants

(The above names are in the same hand, the following eight are signatures)

Signed by 

John Bradford - Vicar

William Payne - Constable

John Roberts - Churchwarden

Hugh Bidwell - Churchwarden

William Langworthy - Constable

Robert Cobley - Overseer

Thomas Pitt - Overseer


* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.


Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page