^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.

On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".

They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.

We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.

The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Pancrasweek belonged to the Hundred of  Black Torrington

The original spelling has been preserved

Dunstan Allen Edmond Gifford Pascho Painter
Richard Allen Emmanuel Gifford Richard Painter
Thomas Allen John Gifford sen. Stephen Palmer
Simon Bailie John Gifford jun. Elisha Parr
John Barrowes Josias Gifford Onesimus Penrose
Christopher Blake Samuel Gifford William Pomery
Robert Botaler John Gliddon sen. William Pomery
John Bromell John Gliddon jun Francis Russell
Ralph Bromell Philip Gliddon John Russell
Thomas Bromell Robert Gliddon Nicholas Russell
Charles Brooke John Herde John Ryell
Thomas Burnard John Juell John Saltern
John Cadd Philip Knill Richard Saltern
Thomas Cadd Francis Lange Nicholas Sheere
Thomas Cadmor Thomas Lange William Sheere
John Chamber Abraham Laune Nicholas Shephard
Richard Darke Thomas Littleions Edmund Sherwell
Richard Deeme Theophilus Lobb Nicholas Stambury
William Deeme Arthur Mill Humphrey Tooker
John Dayman jun. John Moore Richard Travers
William Dayman Nathan Moore Joseph Trebarsit
Samuel Draper Richard Moore John Upright
John Elliot William Moore Thomas Upright
William Faunston Hunphrey Munioy Francho Webb
Richard Fox Daniel Painter Richard Webb
John George Daniel Painter Edward Wood
John Gibbs John Painter -----

Jeremy Samson is only occasionally resident in this parish and

took the protestation therefore in the Parish of Kilkhampton

where  he has a dwelling and is much resident.


James Sharte - Curate

Philoip Boteler - Hundred Constable

Richard Painter - Churchwarden

John Gliddon - Sub Constable

John Dayman - Overseer

Ciprian Moyse - Overseer


*For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page