^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Parkham belonged to the Hundred of  Shebbear

The original spelling has been preserved

John Arnell Thomas Gifford Arthur Nicolle Gent
Jerome Barry John Glover Thomas Norcott
Giles Basse John Glover Henry Palmer
John Basse John Glover John Palmer
John Bearman Richard Glover John Palmer
Nathaniel Benfille Thomas Glover Nicholas Palmer
Matthew Bonde William Glover William Palmer
Roger Bontler Anthony Grigge Giles Pawe
John Bordler, Gent William Grigge John Pawe
Jerome Borne Josias Grigg Philip Pawe
 John Britten Walter Grudgery John Peane
John Britten Robert Hangcott Thomas Pepard
Robert Britten John Hanger John Perkins
Thomas Britten John Hawe John Prance
James Clarke, Gent Charles Heard Richard Prance
Henry Cleverdon Edward Heard Thomas Pumery
John Cleverdon Giles Heard Laurence Reede
Stephen Cleverdon Giles Heard George Rissedon
Alexander Colle Samuel Heard John Robins
Edward Colle Thomas Heard Samuel Robins
Nicholas Colscott Robert Hooper William Robins
William Colscott Ellis Horne Richard Roggers
John Copp John Horne John Rowe
John Crudge John Horne John Saltern
Austin Daniell Robert Horne Thomas Saltern
Giles Daniell Walter Horne Jasper Shutte
John Daniell Anthony Howell Philip Simons
John Daniell John Hutchin Henry Southcott
Silvester Daniell Nicholas Hutchin Leonard Southcott
Walter Daniell Anthony Josse Michael Sperman
Giles Darcke Bartholomew Julle Thomas Sperman
George Darke William Julle John Stabledon
Richard Darke William Klottery Philip Stabledon
William Darke Clement Knicoll Richard Stabledon
Thomas Davie Matthew Knicoll Hugh Stocke
Robert Deane John Lee Richard Telder
William Deane Robert Lee Samuel Thorne
Absalom Dell William Lee Thomas Threwe
Anthonyt Deman Richard Lendon Richard Throwe
Richard Drone Hugh Lille Gabriel Tricke
John Dune John Lowrine Thomas Tricke
Bartholomew Frell John Lowringe John Vigers
Solomon Finsher Roger Maine Edmund Visicke
John Galsworthy Thomas Manes John Wheddon
John Galsworthy Hugh Marchand John Whelfile
John Galsworthy Edmund Matthew Bastin Whelfill
Osimus Galsworthy Lewis Mathewe Ogestin Whelfill
Thomas Galsworthy Nicholas Nealle Arthur Whetfild
William Galsworthy Esq. William Neallle Robert Whetfild
The following are recusants:
Humphrey Coffine, Gent   Balthazar Linch Thomas Palmer
John Coffine, Gent Edward Linch Andrew Pridem
John Harkes sen. Thomas Linch Nicholas Tricke
John Harkes jun. Thomas Morish ---
William Josse Peter Morrish ---
(The above are all in the same hand, the following eight are signatures)

Henry Braye - Curate

Nicholas Haine

Thomas Galsworthy - Constable

John Hoore - Churchwarden

William Colscott - Sidesman

Robert Crellick - Overseer

John Bearman - Overseer

John Horne - Overseer


* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.



^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page