^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.

On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".

They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.

We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

which are grouped in Hundreds**

Winkleigh belonged to the Hundred of North Tawton & Winkleigh

William Amery Richard Hammond John Osmente
Roger Babbaige Augustine Hatherly Peter Osmente
Richard Basse George Hatherly William Osmente
Bernard Beare John Hatherly John Paddon sen.
Thomas Beaton Robert Hatherly John Paddon
Thomas Bisshope William Hatherlye James Peith
Philip Blackmore John Heale Thomas Perben
Christopher Bolt Ralph Heale John Picke
Robert Bolte William Heale George Pike
John Botefield sen. Robert Heard William Pike
John Botefilde John Hearde Hugh Please
Barnard Bowcher Bartholomew Heare John Please
John Bowcher Arthur Heawood Thomas Plece
Richard Bowden Cornelius Heawood Robert Pole
Richard Bowden Daniel Heawood Nicholas Potter
William Bower Henoch Heawood Robert Potter
Josias Bragge Humphrey Heawood Richard Powe
Simon Bragge Humphrey Heawood Robert Powe
Pancras Brawning John Heawood sen. William Powe
Hugh Bremelcombe John Heawood jun. Mark Pridham
John Bremelcombe Peter Heawood Hugh Pugsley
John Brocke Robert Heawood Thomas Pugsley
Marshall Brooke Robert Heawood Thomas Radford
Roger Browne Scipio Heawood Bernard Reed
Thomas Bullead  Simon Heawood Richard Reede
Elezein Bulled Walter Heawood Andrew Reede
Anthony Burne  William Heawood George Reede
Jeremias Burne William Heawood jun. William Reede
John Butled John  Heawoode jun. Robert Roggers
George Callard John Hellier John Rottonburye sen.
Thomas Callard William Herle John Rottonburye jun.
Charles Chedsley Christopher Herneman William Rowe
Thomas Chedsley George Herneman John Rowse
John Chidsley James Herneman Thomas Sapledon
Andrew Clarke William Herneman George Sheldon
Daniel Clarke John Hervye John Shilston
Dionese Clark Thomas Hill Robert Shilston
Henry Clarke John Hockin John Shore
Mark Clarke Richard Holland Edward Skinner
Rowland Clarke John Hollaway John Skinner
Theobald Clarke Thomas Hollaway Walter Squire
William Clarke Walter Hollaway John Squyre
George Cleviton Walter Hosegood Jonas Squyre
James Clotworthy Thomas Isacke Robert Squyre
John Clotworthy Josias Jeffery Edward Stapledon
Robert Clotworthy Thomas Jefferye John Stephens
William Clotworthy Nicholas Joppe George Stoyle
George Cocke Anthony Jorye Nicholas Summer
Thomas Cockenham Samuel Jorye George Tanner
James Cockram John Josse Hannibal Tanner
Thomas Cockrame George Lanine Matthew Tanner
George Copp Anthony Lawell Simon Tawton
George Crewse George Leatheren William Thorne
Hannibal Crewse John Leatheren Thomas Trace
Lewis Crewse Richard Leatheren John Tremlett
Thomas Crewse Dunstan Leviton Ambrose Tucker
Giles Davie Nicholas Lewes George Tucker
John Davie Edward Line John Tucker
Edward Davye John Line John Tucker
George Dinnys Barnard Lupton* John Tucker jun.
Stephen Disten Barnard Lupton* Matthew Tucker
Thomas Downe Barnard Lupton* Nathaniel Tucker
Arthur Downinge Emmanuel Lupton* Peter Tucker
Thomas Dullinge George Lupton sen.* Peter Tucker
John Dunsterfild George Lupton jun.* John Vanstone
Zachary Endacott Hannibal Lupton* Samuel Vanstone
Rise ap Even Henry Lupton* Joseph Venner
Laurence Evens John Lupton sen.* Arthur Viccarye
Thomas Evens John Lupton* George Viccarye
George Fowler John Lupton* John Viccarye
Aster Foxe  Philip Lupton* Lewis Wade
Thomas Freind Samuel Lupton* Thomas Ware
John Freinde Samuel Lupton* William Warren
William Freinde sen Simon Lupton* Thomas Waye
William Freinde Thomas Lupton* John Webber
Henry Gaye George Lusse Robert Webber
Thomas Gaye Edward Marshall Thomas Weeke
William Gaye William Marytyn Robert Weekes
John Glasse George Maye Thomas Weekes
Philip Gloyne Thomas Mayne Henry Weevill
William Gove Thomas Mitchell John Wescombe
Christopher Gregory Simon Moore Anthony Westcott
Richard Gybbon Christopher Morcam John White
Samuel Gydley Thomas Mosse William White
Barnard Gyles Zachary Nucomb John Wood
John Gyles Humphrey Orchard Richard Wood
Robert Gyles Thomas Orchard Richard Wood
John Hammond Thomas Osement

Signed by 

John Luxton - Rector

Scipio Lupton - Churchwarden

John Rudge - Churchwarden

George Lupton* - Constable

John Woode - Constable

Thomas Moore - Constable

John Bayley - Constable

Anthony Bowden - Overseer

Thomas Crudgworthie - Overseer

Richard Rowe - Overseer

Ambrose Vicary - Collector

* Dr. Peter Lyne, who has seen the original Protestation Return which is kept in the House of Lords, has suggested that this surname can be read as LUXTON (a name well-known in Winkleigh to the present time) and may not be LUPTON

** For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.

Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page