^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.

On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".

They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.

We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

which are grouped in Hundreds*

The parish of Bratton Clovelly belonged to the Hundred of Lifton

Oliver Ascott Stephen Halle Henry Pengelly
Thomas Bayle Wlater Halle John Pengelly
Arthur Bickle William Halle John Pengelly
Christopher Bickle Andrew Hockaday Roger Pengelly
John Bickle Thomas Hutchins Roger Pengelly
Roger Bickle Timothy Jordan William Pengelly
Roger Blagdon John Lange William Pengelly
Richard Blithe Andrew Langford William Pengelly
Alexander Breyly Thomas Langford John Pommery
Tristram Brooke Edmund Lavers Thomas Prynn
Geoffrey Burnard William Lavers Armisettle Reed
Richard Burnbye, gent. Edward Lee Richard Rowe
Philip Caddie William Leonard Thomas Rowe
Edward Chastie John Luxmoore John Saunders
Henry Chastie John Martin Henry Skelly
Richard Chastie Richard Mason Thomas Skelly
Thomas Cockram Christopher Maye Robert Soale
George Collier Christopher Maye Henry Soper
John Coombe Geoffrey Maye John Soper
Henry Coryndon, gent. John Maye Laurence Soper
John Coryndon John Maye Nicholas Soper
John Coryndon Moses Maye John Southwoode
Thomas Coryndon, gent. Roger Maye Henry Stamburie
John Cripson Thomas Maye John Stambury
Thomas Cripson David Metter Samuel Stambury
John Crosse John Metter John Stukie
Richard Delve William Metter Thomas Tapson, Esq.
Daniel Downe William Metter Robert Tapson
John Downe Arthur Norris John Tickle
William Downe John Norris Roger Toll
Isaac Drake John Norris Moses Tom
John Eastabrooke Richard Norris Nathaniel Trobble
Roger Ellis Timothy Norris George Turner
Arthur Escott William Norris Richard Vawden
William Escott Thomas Northcott Richard Vawden
Henry Estcott John Peirse William Vawden
Henry Estcott John Peirse John Walter
George Forsselett Roger Peirse Tobias White
John Gaye Andrew Pengelly William White
John Haine David Pengelly John Yeoldon

Signed by 

Richard Mervine - Parson

John Ellacott - Clerk

William Smalecombe - Churchwarden

Moses Langford, gent - Overseer

John Ascott - Overseer

John Chastie - Overseer

John Amodes - Overseer

David Vawden - Constable

Arthur Doidge - Constable


* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.


Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page