^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials


By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parishes

which are grouped in Hundreds*

Bratton Fleming belonged to the Hundred of Braunton

(The original spelling has been retained )

Charles Andrewes Roger Fowlaive William Moore
Humphrey Baker Robert Gay Gregory Nott
John Baker Alexander Gill William Nut
William Baker Amias Goole Richard Owyn
Baily, Mr. Thomas John Gread Andrew Parkyn
Henry Bale Richard Greenway Henry Pasmore
Adrian Barrowe Anthony Gubbe John Pasmore
Edmund Barrowe Fortescue Gubbe Thomas Pasmore
John Barrowe John Gubbe William Pasmore
John Barrowe  Richard Gubbe William Pasmore
Richard Barrowe Richard Gubbe Henry Pope
Richard Barrowe William Gubbe Methusalah Pope
William Barrowe Laurence Hamond Richard Pope
Robert Barwicke sen. Thomas Harris Francis Pugsley
Robert Barwicke jun. David Heddon (sick) Richard Pyle
William Barwicke William Heddon Alexander Rawle
John Beard David Hoyle Abraham Ridd
Thomas Bonde Humphrey Hunt Thopmas Ridd
Robert Browne John Hunt William Ridd
Robert Burrowe William Huxtable John Rooke
Edmund Carde Richard Jenken Joseph Somerwill
Edmund Carder David Jones William Sutton
Joseph Carder John Kelland Richard Tallyn
Richard Carder John Knight Hugh Tooker
Robert Carder Jonas Laryand William Tooker
William Carder Anthony Lavercombe Anthony Triggs
William Carder Henry Lavercombe James Triggs
William Cloutman Humphrey Lavercombe Richard Triggs
Anthony Collins  Joseph Lavercombe Robert Triggs
John Collins Richard Lavercombe William Tallyn (sick)
Robert Collins John Lee John Walland
Anthony Comer Simon Lee Sen. Peter Weryn
Anthony Conde sen. Simon Lee Jun. Anthony Wilkey
Anthony Conde jun. William Lee George Wilkey
Arthur Conde Anthony Loworthy John Wilkey (sen)
William Conde sen. Anthony May John Wilkey (jun)
William Conde John May sen. William Wilkey
John Courtis John May (at Chimwell) John Williams
John Courtis Nicholas May Matthew Willams
Humphrey Dallyn William May -----
Edward Downe Abraham Moggeridge -----

(The above names are in the same hand; the following six are signatures)

Matthew Gay - Clerk

John Courtis - constable

Thomas Bayleys- Churchwarden

Humphrey Polling - Churchwarden

Henry Lavercombe - Churchwarden

William Huxtable - Churchwarden. 

* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.



^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page