^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Broadhempston belonged to the Hundred of  Haytor

The original spelling has been preserved

Andrew Abram
John Dooke
Michael Packe
Francis Abram
Isaac Dyer
John Parker
Thomas Abram
John Dyer
George Peter
John Alexander
George Edwards
John Peter
Richard Alexander
Richard Edwards
Samuel Peter
Benjamin Averie
Samuel Edwards
William Peter
Michael Averie
Edward Elles sen.
Hugh Phibes
Richard Averie
Edward Elles
Alexander Preston
Thomas Averie
Richard Elles sen
Richard Preston
William Averie
Richard Elles jun
John Quash
Richard Axford
Andrew Ehell
William Rackleise
John Barter
Thomas Evans
Henry Readon
John Bayleise
Robert Fareman
John Rich
John Beard
Richard Ferris
John Shapley
Tristram Beard
John Fogwill
Samuel Shapley
William |Beard
William Fogwill
George Skinner
Edward Beare
Philip Folles
Christopher Skrich
Richard Bennet
Elcana Ford
Arthur Smardon
Thomas Bennet
Elias Ford
Thomas Snash
William Bennet
Thomas Ford sen.
Christopher Snell
Richard Berre
Edward Frish
Thomas Soper
William Blach
John Full
Andrew Soperlas
George Blachford
John Garret
Nicholas Stephens
Edward Blackaller
John Geffers
Richard Stephins
George Blackaller
Gregory Gifford
Robert Stoneman
Richard Blackaller sen
Richard Gray
John Tapley
Richard Blackaller jun
John Grose
John Tapley
Richard Blackaller jun
Peter Harris
John Tapley
Zacharias Blackaller
Edmund Hill
Nicholas Tapley
Edward Blackler
John Hill
Richard Tapley
Geoffrey Boine
Andrew Hingston
William Tapley
John Boine sen
Hugh Hingston
Henry Tozer
John Boine jun
William Hoare
Peter Tozer
Richard Boine sen
John Hodge
William Tozer
William Bone
Thomas Horwill
Walter Trust
Edward Bovie
Andrew Horswill
John Tubb
Richard Bovie
Edmund Irish
William Tucker
Thomas Bowden
Joseph Kinesman
Lewis Venninge
Walter Bridgeman
John Kinge
William Venninge
John Broken
John Lake
John Vicarie
Stephen Broken
Richard Lake sen
Roger Vicarie
Richard Caseleigh
Richard Lake jun
John Wakeham
Samuel Caseleigh
Robert Lake
Thomas Wakeham
Richard Christopher
Hugh Lamshead
William Warringe
Clement Cole
Richard Langemead
Elias Waymouth
John Cole
Michael Lavers
David Webber
Nicholas Cole
Robert Lavers
Edward Webber
John Colletgon
William Lavers
Gregory Webber
Richard Colleton
Alan Leaman
John Webber sen
Thomas Comminge
John Leaman
Richard Webber
Richard Cooke
John Lines
Robert Webber
Thomas Cooke
Hugh Longecastell
Thomas Webber
William Cooke
Nicholas Looman
Edward Weger
John Coome
John Lovecraft
John Welch
Gawen Coper
Samuel Lovecraft
William Westerne
George Coyte
Thomas Lovecraft
John White
John Coyte
John Luscombe
William Whiteman
Thomas Coyte
John Mann
John Whiteway
Arthur Damerell
Peter Mann
Philip Whiteway
Elias Damerell
Richard Mann
John Widdecomb sen
Nicholas Damerell
John Manninge
John Widdecomb
William Damerell sen.
Robdert Maredon
Thomas Widdecomb
William Damerell
William Markes
John Williames
William Damerell
Philip Michellmore
Thomas Williames
Robert Davie
William Miller
Robert Windeate
Edward Dench
William Mills
John Winsor
Edward Dench
William Morell
Stephen Yeoman
Thomas Dinninge
William Moses sen
William Dionninge
William Moses jun
Matthew Dodridge
Leonard Newcomb
Nicholas Dodridge
Bartholomew Nicoles
Thomas Dodderidge
William Nicoles
(The above names are in the same hand, the following five are signatures)

John Shenton - Curate

William Mann - Constable

Thomas Ford Constable

Gregory Edwards - Churchwardens

Richard Barter - Overseer


* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page