^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Buckland Monachorum belonged to the Hundred of  Roborough

The original spelling has been preserved

John Adams Joseph Edgecumbe John Merevill
Edmund Algar Roger Edwards Peter Monne
Bartholomew Amsen Alexander El;ford Robert Morten
Archelaus Anderton Alexander Elforde William Mosse
Christopher Anderton Mark Finch John Mulbrey
John Anderton John Foote John Newte
Philip Anderton Jon Foote Jasper Norcott
Thomas Anderton Nicholas Foote John Parnell
John Andrewes Richard Foote Phebus Parnell
Samson Ascott Richard Foote Philip Parnell
Jonathan Attwilll Richard Foote Daniel Patchacott
John Averye Robert Foote Christopher Peeke
John Balhachett Robert Foote William Pencavill
Matthew Balhachett Thomas Foote Benedict Peterefeild
Richard Balhachett William Foote John Peterfeild
William Balhachett William Foote John Peterfeild jun.
Roger Bawden John Forde John Peterfeild jun. 
Jon Baylye John Forde jun. Thomas Peterfeild
William Baylye Philip Forde William Peterfeild
Richard Beriman Richard Forde Thomas Phayer
Anthony Birde Robert French John Philpe
Richard Blancherd William French Thomas Philpe
Robert Blancherd John Guye Thomas Power
Robert Blancherd George Gye Charles Pym Esq.
Richard Blye Philip Gye Arthur Rante
William Bonnaver Thomas Gye Bennett Reape
Richard Bowden Thomas Gye Francis Reape
Silvanus Bowden Richard Hamlyn Michael Reape
Richard Bownde William Hamlyn George Reede
James Bridan Arthur Hannocke John Reep
Henry Broade John Harforde Thomas Reepe
Nowell Broomyll Walter Harris Daniel Richards
Christopher Broomyn Diggory Hawkins Philip Richards
John Broomyn George Hayne William Robins
John Borrmyn Michael Hayne John Rubye
Philip Broomyn William Hendon Abel Scantlebury
Richard Broomyn Simon Herry Oliver Scantlebury
Robert Broomyn Christopher Hexton Richard Scantlebury
Richard Brownsen Richard Hexton Gaydge Scobble
Thomas Buckler William Hodge Michael Scobble
4William Bunsall William Hooper Philip Scobble
John Chase John Horwell Robert Scobble
Richard Chase William Horwell William Scobble
William Chase Christopher Huddye Benedict Seller
Stephen Chubbe William Huddye Thomas Seller
Alexander Clarke Thomas Jakeman John Shipen
Stephen Clarke Anthony Jane John Skinner
Thomas Clarke Mark Jesop Ellis Soorten
Robert Collin Matthew Jesop Henry Soorten
John Collins Thomas Jope John Sprye
Sylvester Collyn Hugh Keagle William Sprye
William Collyn John Kember William Sprye
John Cooche David Kennerd Roger Stacye
Henry Cooke Christopher Kitt Thomas Stadden
Benedict Corter John Kitt Walter Standon
Edmund Corter Thomas Knighten William Staton
George Corter John Knighton John Steven
John Corter Richard Knighton John Steven
Richard Corter Richard Knighton Nicholas Steven
William Corter Robert Knighton Richard Steven
Richard Creese Walter Knighton Richard Steven jun.
William Creese John Lavers Robert Steven
John Crossman John Lavers Thomas Steven
Richard Crossman N icholas Lavers William Steven
Ellis Crymes Esq. Richard Lavers William Stevens
Lewis Crymes Gent Richard Lavers Mathias Street
John Davies Richard Lavers William Symons
Richard Davies Thomas Lavers Ellis Tamlyn
Franceis Drake Bart William Lavers John Tapson
John Drake John Lawrence John Tapson
Thomas Drake Esq. Benedict Lawrey William Tapson
Thomas Drake Christopher Lawrey Thomas Taylor
Christopher Dunrich John Lawrey John Trewell
John Dunrich Richard Lawey sen. Philip Towle
Richard Dunrich Richard Lawrey jun. Pasco Tregelles
Ellis Dunriche John Leighe Josias Trix
Richard Dunriche Amos Ley Roger Trix
Robert Dunriche John Littletorr John Walter
Edmund Dunwich Benet Lucks Thomas Walter
Ellis Dunwich John Lucks Andrew Warde
John Dunwich William Lucks William Warde
Michael Dunwich John Lugger Barnard Webb
Richard Dunwich Sen. Philip Mannward John Will
Richard Dunwich Andrew Marten Peter Will
Richard Dunwich jun. Edward Marten Mark Wille
Simon Dunwich John Marten Matthew Wille
Simon Dunwich Thomas Marten Richard Wille
John Dunwiche William Maynard John Willes
Christopher Edgecumbe John Maynger John Windeat
Christopher Edgecumbe Thomas Melkett Nicholas Windeatt
     John Edgecumbe        Benedict Merevill William Windeat
John Edgecumbe Bennet Merevill jun. Richard Woolcom

Christopher Hawrey - Pastor

Philip Forde - Constable

John Tapson - Constable

Bewnnet Peterfeild _ Churchwarden

Lewis Crimes - Overseer

Gaydge Scobble - Overseer

Richard Broomyn - Overseer

Richard Berman - Overseer


* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.


Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council



^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page