^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Hatherleigh belonged to the Hundred of  Black Torrington

The original spelling has been preserved

Richard Arnell Robert Gore Michael Morse
John Ascott John Gorford Philip Nathenge
William Axworthy Richard Gorford Nicholas Netherwaye
James Bagbere John Granntlade Daniel Nollete
Robert Bagboro George Harris George Norcott
John Balson Edmund Head Edward Northam
Jasper Banburye Bartholomew Heard Zachary Panchard
Thomas barrows Richard Hetody Richard Parkins
Edward Bater William Hewett George Peacombe
John Battin Giles Hockadye John  Pearden
George Beckelake Bartholomew Hockaway John Perkins sen
William Benet William Hole John Perkins jun
John Bennett Arthur Hooper Thomas Pleace
Walter Bishoppe George Hooper Achilles Pollard, gent.
James Brewett Geoffrey Hooper Lewis Pollard
George Broad Jerome Hooper William Powe
William Brooke Nicholas Hooper Jonathan Pynne
Josais Buene Roger Hooper George Raints
William Bulled Leonard Horford John Reede
Achilles Burden George Hose Walter Reede
John Burden Richard Isack Lewis Richards
Robert Burden Thomas Jeewe George Riche
Walter Bursdon George Jones Arthur Ridson
John Burston John Joynt sen Philip Robbins
William Capp John Joynt jun John Rockey
Richard Carwithye William Joynt sen Robert Roe
Anthony Chappell William Joynt jun William Rolytone
Thomas Clee Andrew Kemp Michael Ruke
John Cloake Robert Kemp Nicholas Sale
James Collins John Kemp John Seldon
John Collins Jasper Kingwell Thomas Short
John Collins Richard Kolwill Robert Simmer
Thomas Collins Clement Lake John Smale
John Colwill Laurence Lake Simon Smale
Alexander Coome Thomas Lake William Smale
John Cortes Thomas Lange William Smale
Philip Crispin John Lashbrooke Robert Small
John Crocker Thomas Lashbrooke Arthur Southcombe
Zachary Crofte William Lashbrooke John Southcombe
John Cuddamore Tobias Leaman William Southwode
John Cupp Edward Legg Humphrey Speccott
George Davells Edward Legg jun William Squire
Peter Davells Alexander Lethbridge John Staunton
Jasper Davy John Letheren Alexander Taylor
John Dennis William Ligott John Taylor
Arthur Dodge Samuel Littlejohn Robert Taylor
Thomas Downe John Locke Joseph Tampson
Joseph Dyer Nicholas Locke Thomas Tampson
Lewis Dyer William Lubban Nicholas Thorne
John Earle William Lucas John Tozer
William Eastabrooke Henry Luckes Francis Tucker
Edmund Edye Thomas Lug Thomas Tyler
John Edye Richard May William Vogwile
Leonard Edye Robert May Richard Vogwill
Thomas Fintson Jasper Maye Richard Webber
William Ford Robert Maye sen Thomas Webber
John Frind Robert Maye jun John White sen
Richard Frind John Mayger John White
Robert Frind Richard Meier Martin White
John Frost Robert Menewhinocke Peter White
William Frost Nicholas Merfield Simon White
Philip Frye Robert Merifield Arthur Williams
William German John Monkome jun James Willmots
John Gibbins Emmanuel Morcomb John Yord
Richard Gill John Morcomb sen John Yeo Esq.
Barnard Godfrye Robert Morcombe -
Joseph Godfrye Elias Morse -

Signed by 

William Trevethicke - Vicar

Henry Abell - Churchwarden

Francis Tucker - Churchwarden

William Arnold jun - Churchwarden

John Speare - Constable

John Burford - Constable

James Broker - Overseer

John Joynt - Overseer


* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.


Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page