^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.

On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".

They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.

We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Iddesleigh belonged to the Hundred of Shebbear

The original spelling has been preserved

William Arnoll Henry Hunt Humphrey Pine
Hugh Beare Hugh Isacke Thomas Pine
Theobald Bowcher Nicholas Jurdan John Podicombe
Thomas Bowcher Thomas Kelley Humphrey Rattembury
John Bramelcombe Roger Knight John Rattenbury
Charles Channon Humphrey Lapton Michael Rattenbury
John Chedsleigh William Mallell, Gent Thomas Reede
John Cockwill Oliver Mallet, Gent Richard Rowe.
John Cupper Henry Marshall Richard Rowe
Simon Cupper Henry Marshall jun. Robert Sangdon
Thomas Curtes Lewis Marshall George Scott
John Davey William Marshall sen. Peter Scott
John Davie sen William Marshall jun Francis Shapton
Giles Downer Laurence Medland Hugh Shapton
Simon Easbrooke John Meryfill Jacob Simons
John Gale Hugh Moore John Squire
Richard Gale Gifford Moyse Thomas Tawton
William Gale Hugh Moyse sen. Walter Tawton
Hugh Gove Hugh Moyse jun. William Thrasshell
Samuel Griffinge John Moyse John Underhill
Henry Hammall Richard Moyse Philip Underhill
Daniel Harris Thomas Moyse Simopn Underhill
Peter Hatherley William Moyse James Veale
John Heale William Moyse jun Daniel Ware
John Heane Hugh Nenowe Nicholas Waring
John Heard John Nenowe sen Thomas Webber
Robert Heaywod John Nenowe jun Edward Wheaton
Samuel Hosegood John Northcott Nicholas Wood
Roger Huish jun. Philip Paddon ---

The persons named above took their Protestation in the presence of Mr Walter Beale, Clerk, Thomas Hooper and James Piper, Churchwardens, John Paddon and John Barons, Overseers and Roger Harris, Constable.

John Barron - Overseer

John Paddon - Overseer

* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.

Taken from the transcription by A. J. Skinner of the Parish Registers which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                         Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page