^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the king and to Parliament. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in "the Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  An indexed transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parishes which are grouped in Hundreds*

Sampford Peverell belonged to the Hundred of Halberton

The original spelling has been retained

Christopher Allen Richard Govier John Rowden
John Allen Robert Govier Bartholomew Sanders
Henry Allen John Grantland Isaac Saunder
Philip Allen Robert Greenway Lewis Saunder jun.
Philip Allen jun. James Gunnery Elizaus Saunders
Robert Allen Thomas Haffy Henry Saunders
Matthew Babb George Hall Emmanuel Saunders
Thomas Banies Harry Heanney  James Saunders
John Battynge Geoffrey Heland Lewis Saunder jun.
James Bennet, sen. Edward Hayward Robert Saunders
James Bennet, jun. Elizaus Heyward Robert Saunders
Nicholas Bennet Richard Heyward Samuel Saunders
Humphrey Bennett Simon Heyward Thomas Saunders
William Bennett Arthur Hill William Saunders
Elizaus Bickmore Charles Holway William Saunders
Benjamin Blackmore John Holwell Arthur Senthard
John Blorle Thomas Holwell Henry Shuuter
John Bond Humphrey Hunsorn Richard Sirehead
Andrew Bonde Nicholas Hurford Henry Skidmore
John Bonde William Hurford Nicholas Sleily
Robert Bonde Christopher Hutchings John Smith
Alexander Bower Abacocke Jearse Elizeus Southard
Christopher Brimridge William Jenkings Robert Southard
Anthony Buckham Thomas Kears Peter Staple
Edward Bulder Andrew Keepe Thomas Stryman
William Burrows  John Kent Augustine Stone
Davy Carbyn Ralph Kerslake John Stone
Thomas Catford William Knight Richard Stone
Thomas Cathford Thomas Land Thomas Style
Richard Cawde Peter Leadmore Arthur Styles
Richard Chane Richard Locke Humphrey Suttly
George Chilpar Richard Locke Humphrey Trevilian
Robert Chilse John Lutlye Thomas Troblefield
William Churly John Lux John Troblefrith
Robert Coate John Manly Edmund Trutt
William Cole William Manly Thomas Turner
George Combe Ambrose Marshall William Turner
John Combe Thomas Maxery John Turtyn
William Corricke Richard May Henry Wall
Edward Cotty Edward Mills Hugh Warren
Jeremy Cotty sen Richard Mogridge John Warren
Thomas Cotty Robert Mogridge Thomas Warren
William Cotty Arthur Morle Davy Webber
Abraham Culliford Edward Morle James Webber
Robert Curham Thomas Morle jun. John Webber sen.
Robert Curham jun. Vincent Morle John Webber jun.
William Curram William Morle Peter Webber
James Curwood Thomas Morte sen., Thomas Webber
John Curwood William Mullyns Matthew Welland
Thomas Darby John Mutter Nicholas Welland
Andrew Darch Nicholas Mutter Nicholas Welland
Edward Dare Abraham Mymfer Roger Welland
John Dare Thomas Oateway William Welland
William Day Henry Page John Williams
Thomas Deight Robert Palmer William Wills
Thomas Dibbaye John Partridge Edward Willy
Nicholas Drake William Passmore Robert Winter
Hugh Dummett Nathaniel Patch Robert Withers
William Dummett Hugh Peirse William Withers
William Edwards Hugh Pullen sen. John Wood
Matthew Erudge Hugh Pullen jun. Richard Wood
? Exon Mark Pyne Robert Wyner
William Flegapps William Pynn Richard Wyott
Richard Fosbridge Francis Rich Amos Yeo
Robert Furmy Nicholas Ringe Joseph Yeo
Nicholas Gaffyn Thomas Roe sen. Thomas Yeo
William Gaffyn Thomas Roe jun. Thomas Yeo jun.
William Gaffyn Robert Rose William Yeo

Signed by

Thomas Collyns - Rector

Thomas Willy - Constable

Nicholas Curford - Churchwarden

William Turner - Churchwarden

David Pawe - Overseer

Nathaniel Saunder - Overseer


* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purposes.


Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page