^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials


By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.

The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Shobrooke belonged to the Hundred of  West Budleigh

The original spelling has been preserved

Andrew Ascott John Heard Peter Reed, jun.
Roger Avery Peter Hecaton Walter Reed
John Ball John Helliver William Reed
Josias Bartlet Philip Hernaman William Reed
John Berie John Hocaton John Reede
John Bickligh Walter Hodge Philip Remond
William Brimridge Edward Hoines John Row
Edward Browne Amos Hokings Laurence Rowe
Simon Buckingham George Hollake Richard Rowland
Robert Burnbery Thomas Hollman Simon Sampson
Philip Carpenter John Horlcombe Elias Saunders
Gilbert Caverligh John Hugh William Saunders
Thomas Chanon  Barnard Jeffery Richard Sharcombe
Robert Chase Thomas Jones John Shipheard
John Ciste John Jugram Nathaniel Shipland
William Cockram John Keere William Shorte
Francis Codewear Thomas Kempe Ralph Simons
Robert Colins Emmanuel Lay Philip Skiner
Richard Combe William Lovett Humphrey Smale
Thomas Comby Anthony Luttrell John Smith
John Connily Thomas Mander John Smith
John Copp William Mander Thomas Snowe
William Cotton Andrew Manly Roger Steer
Thomas Crooke John Mannder Scipio Stevence
Albert Dally William Mannder Richard Sylinge
James Dally George Marsh Michael Taylor
Richard Dally Andrew Maunder John Teape sen.
Roger Davie Andrew Maunder jun. John Teape
William Davy Walter Maunder Philip Teape
John Dennis Laurence Miller Henry Thorne
James Dowdney Thomas Miller William Tooker
John Drew William Miller Guy Touf
John Dyer Richard Morrish Robert Touff
Thomas Dyer Edward Morishe George Tucker
Robert Elson Nicholas Moysey Thomas Tucker
Thomas Esbry John Nolland John Turner
William Escott Richard Paslake Robert Turner
Henry Esworthy Nicholas Picker Richard Tyman
John Esworthy Matthew Pidsley Richard Tymwell
Laurence Esworthy John Pooke William Tymwell
Thomas Esworthy George Poope Christopher Ware
Walter Esworthy John Poope Philip Wastcott
William, Esworthy Thomas Power Thomas Webber
William Esworthy William Power Christopher Weeke
William Esworthy Edward Puddicombe George Welch
William Evens Robert Pudicoule John Welland
Laurence Fish George Pudison Walter Westcote
Christopher Franch Thomas Quicke James Westcott
Nicholas Franch Richard Raddon John Westcott
Henry Frye William Raddon John Westcott
Sidrach Gain William Raddon John Westcott
James Gale William Radford John Wood
Thomas Grantland William Raddon William Wood
Thomas Grantland William Radford Tobias Woodyear
Henry Greene John Radmore -
Richard Hamett Peter Reed sen. -

Signed by 

Emmanuel Sharpe - Curate

Thomas Hugh - Constable

Laurence Rowe - Churchwarden

Edwrad Rowe - Overseer

* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.

Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page