^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

which are grouped in Hundreds*

Silverton belonged to the Hundred of Heyridge formerly known as Sulfretona

(The original spelling has been retained )

Andrew Ashcott Lewis Hendowe William Pullinge
William Ashcott Robert Hentes Michael Pullinge
Edward Amye John Hill Simon Quicke
Philip Ashford John Hill John Rackett
Jacob Ashlye Peter Hill John Radford
Humphrey Barton, Gent, William Hill Thomas Radford
Richard Barton Roger Hockbride Henry Raymant
Thomas Barton, Gent. Andrew Hodge John Raymayt
William Barton George Hodge George Reade
George Bat Hugh Hodge Christopher Reeve
Roger Batt Gideon Holbrame Nicholas Reeve
William Baylys Humphrey Hollmead Roger Reeve
John Beaker Simon Holman William Reeve
Edward Beare Anthon Horton John Regsteed
Nicholas Beeme William Hovdon Simon Rengsteed
Lewis Bendle Henry Howe William Rewe
John Blackmore John Howe David Richards
John Blackmore Henry Jerman George Richards
Morris Blackmore John Jerman Henry Richards
Richard Bowbewe William Jesoper James Richards
Michael Bradmead John Junsford Roger Richards
Edward Brestowe Edward Kettlye Thomas Richards
William Brodmead John Kinge Robert Rowch
John Bruer Anthony Lake John Russell
Henry Buckingham Robert Lake Robert Russell
John Buckingham John Lande Gent. William Russell
Gregory Bulsworthie Richard Lane Asler Sallye
Christopher Burges Geoffrey Langdome Robert Sanders
Henry Busford Stephen Lange Robert Sanders
John Busland Thomas Lange William Satchell
Philip Bussell William laye William Sathticke
Henry Carr Artemis Leard Nicholas Satterbrige
William Channon Edward Lee Michael Satterleigh
Christopher Chowne George Lee William Satterleigh
Nicholas Chrispen Michael Lee Jasper Satterleng
Richard Chrispen Robert Lee Emmanuel Seaverd
Richard Clarke William Lemon Peter Sentercombe
Bartholomew Clerke John Lewaye John Shobrocke
John Climpe William Lyeard Robert Shobrocke
Thomas Cockes Robert Lyndon Stephen Shobrocke
Henry Collynes Robert Lyndon Henry Skibbowe Gent.
John Combe Richard Lipscombe Richard Slade
Jon Combe Richard Lipscombe Mark Sonwerd
Nicholas Combe Ambrose Lyscombe John Speare
John Comynes John Maddas Richard Sperte
Edward Copp Robert Manlye John Stabeldon
William Cotton, Rector William Mardway John Stevens
William Cotton, Rector's son Richard Mathewe John Stowe
Richard Courtnye William Maye John Stride
George Cowynes  William Maye John Stride
Nicholas Cracombe William Mellford Tristram Symoners
Humphrey Crosse Richard Merces Ralph Symons
Humphrey Cross John Mill Roger Tagler
John Dalles John Mogford Peter Tapp
Thomas Darbye George Morrishe Simon Tapp
Nathaniel Darte Thomas Mortymer Clement Taylor
Stphen Davie Roger Motford John Taylor
Anthony Deacon William Muddeford John Taylor
Philip Dennes Thomas Nyne Thomas Taylor
Stephen Dicker Robert Nicholas Richard Tellers
Robert Downe Robert Nyne Edward Terrye
Robert Draninge Ralph Nyno Anthony Thorncombe
James Eard Robert Ollister Philip Todkeene
John Eastchurch David Osmond Richard Tonatters
Thomas Edgcombe John Osmond Anthony Towattes
Richard Evens John Padmor Philip Towattes
Philip Fagelye Freeman Page John Towte
Simon Feye Peter Panard Jagwill Trawte
John Finsse Anthony Parker Abraham Turner
John Fleye Henry Parker John Turner
Thomas Ford Michael Parker William Turner
William Frye Nicholas Parker William Turner
Henry Fursse Christopher Peage George Upham
John Fursse Gawen Peage Thomas Venner
Laurence Fursse Richard Peage Nicholas Vocyle
Richard Fursse jun Humphrey Pears sen. George Warren
Thomas Fursse Richard Pearse Stephen Warten sen
Thomas Fursse Francis Pease Stephen Warten jun
William Fursse Thomas Penyes Henry Watters
William Fursse John Pethericke Christopher Webb
Robert Gallye John Peverell John Were sen.
John Gaulsworthye Philip Phadmead Simon Wescombe
John Gilbote Francis Philmore Abraham Weslake
Richard Gill Simon Phillmore John Whemple
William Gill John Pitt Benjamin Whiddon
William Gill Richard Pitts sen John Whiddon
Richard Gisse Richard Pitts jun. Robert Whiddon
James Glasse Thomas Pook Robert Whiddon sen
Ellis Gould John Pooke Robert Whiddon jun
John Goulsworthie Richard Pooke Jenkin White
Robert Grendsheeld Roger Pooke David Williams
John Gubbines Thomas Pooke Christopher Wilton sen
Richard Hadgland William Pooke Christopher Wilton jun
Robert Hames David Pottle James Woode
Martin Haswill George Pounde John Woode
Humphrey Heard John Powle Zachariah Worth
Anthony Hearde Robert Preston John Wraysford
Henry Hedman Anthony Prowse Sibbanes Wraysford Gent
John Hellyer James Prowse Richard Yeathe
John Hemwell Richard Prowse James Yendell

(The above all in the same handwriting)

Signed by 

William Cotton - Rector

Charles Gale - Curate

Thomas Downe - Constable

Gawen Fursdon - Constable

Richard Fursse = Churchwarden

Nicholas Keene - Churchwarden

Robert Digen - Overseer

John Squier - Overseer

George Comynes

* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.
Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page