^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

South Brent belonged to the Hundred of Stanborough

The original spelling has been preserved

John Alford James Hannaford John Prowse
William Almon William Hannaford Joseph Prowse
Laurence Almon John Hanson Thomas Prowse
John Almond Bennet Harding Walter Pulster
Charles Amond George Harris Samuel Pusford
Philip Andrew John Harris John Prydeaux
William Andrew Emmanuel Head Roger Read
Edmund Audry James Heare William Reed
John Badcock Edward Heman Christopher Rich
Robert Badcocke Stephen Hept Christopher Rich
Richard Badcoke Richard Heron Richard Rixstoat
John Baker Robert Hichen Richard Roger
Samuel Baker John Hill Thomas Rogers
William Baker Tobias Hill John Roper
Henry Bardon Roger Hole John Rowdell
Andrew Beard John Holman John Sage
John Beard Nicholas Holwell Richard Sage
Richard Bearde Richard Horne John Sanders
Andrew Benmore Samuel Huish John Scoble
Francis Bickam Thomas Jeffery Hugh Shalle
Robert Bickford William Jefferye Simon Shiperd
Richard Bickham Henry Jefres Alexander Shuell
George Bidlocke Simon Johnes Richard Shuell
George Blachford Robert Knight John Shuete
Edward Blackler John Knowle Richard Simons
Henry Blackler Richard Lakeman William Simons
Joseph Belight Richard Lakeman William Smith
John Bligh John Langmead Charles Smyth
Roger Bond Philip Lanngment Henry Smyth
William Browne William Laptheare David Stentover
Roger Buncker Hannibal Lockeson William Stentover
Pasco Burt Christopher London William Stevens
John Cabell John Lowd George Stidston
John Cadd Thomas Lowde George Stidston
Nicholas Cake Nicholas Lucomb John Stidston
John Can Henry Lucombe John Stidston
George Canter John Luscombe John Stidston jun
Lionel Cessnell Peter Luscombe Richard Stidston
Stephen Chadder Thomas Luscombe Roger Stidston
Richard Ciddell Henry Luscombe Thomas Stidston
Richard Coale John Luscombe Walter Stidston
Edward Cole John Luscombe William Stidston
John Cole William Luscombe William Stidston
Roger Cole Avery Maddock William Stidston
John Colling Peter Maddock John Stoneage
Stephen Coming Richard Maddock Richard Sweward
Thomas Corke Thomas Maddock Boniface Symons
Walter Creber Thomas Maddock Henry Symons
John Daffy Alexander Maddocke John Symons
William Didlacke Henry Maddocke John Symons
John Dolbeare John Maddocke Richard Symons
George Duslayne Richard Maddocke Thomas Tamlin
Nicholas Earell William Maddocke Walter Terpin
Thomas Eatton George Mannston Laurence Thorne
John Ellicott George Martyn William Thorne
John Ellicott John Martyn John Thyell
Frances Estridge Richard Martyn Thomas Tipet
John Farbergh Richard Martyn George Tippett
William Farleigh William Match Richard Tippett
Henry Farly Laurence Mayne Thomas Tippett
Richard Farly Richard Metchell Robert Toope
Stephen Fell Simon Michell Nicholas Tozer
David Ferris Thomas Michell Thomas Trist
Henry Ferris William Michell Thomas Trusk
Henry Ferris Richard Mitchell John Tucker
Henry Ferris William Mitching Hercules Veale
John Ferris David Mole, Clerk John Veale
John Ferris David Nicholls John Veale
Peter Ferris Christopher Norracoatt Philip Veale
Roger Ferris Andrew Norris Philip Veale
Robert Ferris John Norris Richard Veale
Robert Ferris Richard Norris Robert Veale
Pasco Flud Robert Norris William Veale
John Flute William Norris Nicholas Webber
Thomas Footte John Nucombe Vincent Weeks
Robert Foster Michael Parnell John Whytte
Leonard Geffery Packle Parnell Thomas Wilcocke
Christopher Gill Robert Philipp John Williams
Roger Gill Henry Phillipps Abraham Willing
Roger Gill Lawrence Pitting Andrew Willinge
Thomas Gill Robert Pitting Richard Windyeare
Nicholas Glawn Gregory Pollexfen John Wyett
William Glawnde John Preist John Yolland
Stephen Gottom John Proose John Yolland
Gabriel Gruytte William Prouse Roger Yolland
Henry Hach Richard Prowse Robert Yolland

John Candy - Vicar

William Norris - Constable

George Foster - Constable

Edward Ford - Constable

Henry Veale - Churchwarden

William Luscombe - Overseer

John Thuell - Overseer

Thomas Ferris - Overseer

George Bidlake - Overseer


* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.


Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page