^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

South Huish belonged to the Hundred of  Stanborough

The original spelling has been preserved

Richard Andrew John Harte Hugh Martin
John Ashman Hugh Harward Richard Martin
William Boodon Moses Harward Isaac Pearse
William Bound Crispin Hatch Isaac Pearse
Andrew Brise John Heeman John Pearse
John Burgam John Hingston Samuel Pearse
James Chadden John Hingston Bennett Pingay
Stephen Chranch Roger Hingston Thomas Quarme
Ewen Clarke Roger Hingston Richard Randall
William Clarke William Hingston Stephen Randall
Edward Cole Andrew Hyne Thomas Randall
John Cookery sen. Edward Jarvis Mark Shippard
John Cookery Edward Jarvis John Squire
William Cookery John Jarvis Robert Squire
Andrew Courtis John Jarvis John Tabb
Christopher Courtis Joseph Jarvis Martin Tapper
John Courtis Peter Jarvis Richard Toockerman
John Courtis Richard Jarvis Simon Upton
Richard Cranch Roger Jarvis John Warringe
William Cranch Thomas Jarvis Josias Whitton
John Crappin William Jarvis John Winston
Nicholas Crassett John Kingston Roger Woulcombe sen.
John Crispin Thomas Kingston Roger Woulcombe jun.
Robert Crispin Edward Lanes Thomas Woulcombe
Thomas Crispin sen. Nicholas Langmead Philip Woolcott
Thomas Crispin jun. Edward Lapthorne Josias Yeabsley
William Crispin Christopher Lidston Richard Yeabsley
Davie Deamon Richard Lidston John Yeabslie
John Dew Robert Lidston Richard Yeabslie
John Downeman Timothy Lidston Robert Yeabslie
John Downman sen. Hugh Lowe Robert Yeabslie
Roger Edwards Robert Luckam Roger Yeabslie
Waymouth Edwards William Luckam Stephen Yeabslie
Richard Ewens Michael Luckome Stephen Yeabslie
Stephen Fabis John Lucton William Yeabslie
James Fearwether John Maddocke Richard Yearle
Robert Fearweather Philip Maddocke Thomas Yearle sen
Roger Harris Stephen Maddocke Thomas Yearle jun

No signatures follow


* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.


Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page