^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


Stokeinteignhead parish belonged to the Hundred of Wonford*

(The original spelling has  been retained)

Edward Adames John Corne Richard Milbery
John Adames John Corener Richard Minkenick
William Adames John Cose John Monck jun.
Edward Alleigh Mark Cose John Monke
John Alleigh Peter Cose William Mudye
Lewis Alleigh Robert Cose sen. Robert Nickle
Roger Alleigh Robert Cose jun. Alexander Paddon
Ellis Allered Robert Cose Edward Palmer
Henry Allered William Cose Henry Pewin
Robert Allward Andrew Couch James Poole
John Alward William Cowle Michael Poole
John Andrew Nicholas Downe Robert Potwin
John Andrew George Drew John Pulman
Richard Andrew Humphrey Ellet George Raddick
Roger Andrew John Ellet Henry Raddick
Thomas Andrew George Endicot jun. Andrew Raddon
Edward Baron Michael Endle Ellis Rendle
Henry Baron Michael Endle jun. Osmund Rich
William Baron Gregory Ford Elias Roe
John Barter William Ford Ellis Row
Richard Bawden Thomas Foster William Row
Anthony Bayly Alexander Giles Geoffrey Rudgway
Thomas Beare Robert Gorham James Rudgway
Edward Bickford John Grdgery Richard Rudgway
Edward Bickford jun. John Hayden William Sampson
Richard Bickford Richard Haywood Richard Selman
Robert Bickford John Holy Richard Selman
William Bickford William Holy Edward Simon
Christopher Blackaller Gregory Jeffery John Simons
Ellis Blackaller Henry Jinny William Simons
John Blackaller John Kelly David Smith
William Blackaller William Kirton John Spiller
William Blackler Edward Lang Joseph Splatte
Robert Boone John Lang William Sweet jun.
Ellis Brain Richard Lang Thomas Tapley
John Brawn Robert Lang Thomas Tapper
Hercules Busset Crispin Langmead Nicholas Tasker
Peter Cade Richard Leare John Taverner
Robert Cade sen. Robert Light

John Taylor

Robert Cade John Lightfoote John Tomlin
Thomas Cade Christopher Lux William Tucker
James Cliffe John Lux William Tucker 
William Cliffe William Lux Gregory Vittery
John Cock William Malbey Edward Vittery
Richard Cock Hugh Man John Vittery
William Cock Peter Manne Andrew Warchild
John Comming John Martin John Whiddon
William Conant William Martin John White
William Conant Christopher Melbey Richard White
Laurence Conet Henry Melbey Thomas Winsor
Mark Coome Thomas Midwinter Anthony Yeo

All the above names in the same hand The following five are signatures:

John Challis - Minister

Henry Grant - Churchwarden

Silvester Whitway - Overseer

William Alling - Overseer

Christopher Andrews - Constable

George Endacott - Constable



*For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.


Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page