^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Stokenham belonged to the Hundred of Coleridge

The original spelling has been preserved

James Adams Robert Gould Peter Pereton
Robert Adams Robert Gould Philip Pereton
Thomas Adams William Gould Thomas Pereton
Richard Adey William Gould Walter Pereton
George Andrew Robert Goulde Richard Perrett
Philip Andrew James Grate Richard Perrett
Robert Andrew Zachary Hackston Richard Perrotte
Richard Attwill William Hannaford Andrew Phillipp
John Austin Hercules Haukins Ellis Phillipp
John Baker Richard Haukins James Phillipp
George Ball William Haukins Michael Phillipp
Walter Bargin John Head Michael Phillipp jun.
Thomas Barnes Michael Head Nicholas Phillipp
William Barteram Michael Head Richard Phillipp
John Bastard Philip Heaman Thomas Philipp
Joseph Bastard Richard Hept Thomas Phillipp
Francis Blackeller John Hepte John Phillipps
John Blackeller George Hill Robert Phillipps
Nathan Blackeller John Hine James Pitt
Robert Blackeller Humphrey Hodge, Gent Peter Pollard
Nicholas Blanke John Hodge, Gent John Pope
Thomas Boddrey Leonard Hodge Michael Pope
Peter Brown, Gent. Gilbert Holland Michael Pope
William Browne Nicholas Hollett Nicholas Pope
John Burgand Nicholas Hollett Peter Pope
Walter Burgand Riochard Hollett Richard Pope
Thomas Burgame Richard Hone William Pope
John Burridge Richard Hoppin William Pope
Peter Cardod William Hoppin Richard Pound
John Catland John Horswell jun. Edward Powell
Thomas Catland Nicholas Horswell Nathaniel Pretijohn
Thomas Catland jun. Edward Houpper Nicholas Pretijohn
John Cawker John Houpper William Pretijohn
Peter Cawker John Hoyle William Pretijohn
Richard Cawker John Hoyle Solomon Prouse
Samuel Churchwill Richard Hoyle Robert Randall
Crispin Clarke William Hoyle Roger Randall
Mathew Clarke Peter Hyne William Randall
Robert Clarke Robert Hyne William Scoose
William Clarke John Jefferie Richard Scotte
William Clemant Michael Jefferie Peter Shath
Thomas Clife Michael Jefferie Thomas Shath
Henry Cloke Michael Jefferie Thomas Sheppeard
Bartlett Cole Nicholas Jefferie William Sheppeard
James Cole William Jefferie Edmund Shipheard
John Cole Andrerw Jeffery Thomas Shutt
Michael Cole Christopher Jeffery John Simonds 
Nathaniel Cole James Jeffery John Somaster, Gent.
Philip Cole Robert Jeffery William Stear
Robert Cole Thomas Jeffery sen. John Steare
Robert Cole Thomas Jeffery Robert Steare
Thomas Cole John Jellard John Steele
Thomas Cole Peter Jellard jun. Philip Steele
William Cole William Jellard Thomas Steele
Edward Coles Robert Kennaway George Stidston
William Collin David Kinge Henry Stone
William Cooke Nicholas Kinge Isaac Stone
Richard Cornish Richard Kinge Nicholas Stone
Richard Crewse William Kinge Robert Stone
Walter Cussen {hilip Kingston Robert Stone
William Cussen Robert Knight Samson Stone
William Cussen Hugh Knowles Thomas Stone
Richard Cutland Jezrea Knowles Thomas Stone
John Cutmore Andrew Lake John Stme
John Dare George Lake Arthur Tabb
Thomas Dare Edward Lange Richard Tabb
Philip Davie John Lange Walter Tabb
Richard Derrie Nicholas Lange William Tabb
William Derry Richard Lange John Terrie
William Derrye Robert Lange Andrew Toller
John Downinge Edward Lee Edward Toller
William Downiynge John Lee Vincent Toller
Michael Drew John Lee William Toller
Nicholas Dunnynge Nathaniel Lee Henry Tombe
John Eaton  Walter Lethbridge John Tombe
William Edmonds Robert Ley Nicholas Toombe
William Edward Christopher Life John Tooker
John Edwardes Joseph Life Michael Tooker
John Edwardes John Liffe John Toupe
Richard Edwardes John Liston John Towley
Robert Edwardes William Locke Nicholas Treble
Roger Edwardes George Lonnge Thomas Treble
Anthony Edwards Richard Lowd sen. Michel Trout
Jophn Edwards Richard Lowde jun. Richard Trout
John Edwards Robert Lowde Richard Trout
Robert Edwards Muchael Lowe Thomas Trout
Thomas Edwards Michael Lowe Thomas Trout
Leonard Ellis Thomas Lowe Robert Troute
Peter Ellis Thomas Lowe Robert Troute
Nicholas Ewen Robert Luccrast John Upwell
Robert Ewen Arthur Luest Andrew Wakeham
Samson Ewen Muchael Luest Michael Wakeham
William Ewen Richard Luest Richard Wakeham
William Ewen William Luest Richard Wakeham
Peter Ferres William Luest Richard Wakeham
William Flare Richard Lure Peter Wakeham, Gent
Nivcholas Foster Andrew Luscombe William Wakham
Edward Fountaine, Gent John Luscombe Thomas Walter
John Fountayne, Gent Peter Luscombe William Ward
John Fountaine jun, Gent Richard Luscombe John Warden
John Foxe Thomas Luscombe Nicholas Warden
John Foxe John Lust James Warrin
Robert Foxe Henry Maddocke Michael Warrin
Stephen Foxe Peter Matscombe Nicholas Wats
Edward Garland John May James Watt
John Garland William Miles John Watts
John Garland William Mingoe Hugh Wellman
John Garland jun. Andrew More Nicholas White
Mark Garland Thomas Morrell William Widecombe
Mark Garland Nicholas Mortimer John Wills
Nicholas Garland Thomas Mortimer Peter Wills
Thomas Garland John Newman Thomas Wills
William Garland Michael Newman Edward Winter
William Garland George Owen John Winter
Richard Gilberd Vincent Pacey Peter Winter
Thomas Glenfeild Michael Pascho Peter Winter sen.
John Godfrey Robert Pascho Peter Winter jun.
Alexander Goodyear Thomas Pascho Peter Winter jun.
Michael Goodyear Richard Patey Richard Winter
Nicholas Goodyear William Patey Thomas Winter
Henry Goodyeare Nicholas Pearse Lewis Yabbacombe
John Goodyeare Peter Pearse Edward Yabbacomb
John Gould Richard Pearse John Yabbacomb
John Gould Thomas Pearse John Yabsley
John Gould William Pearse Andrew Yeo
Peter Gould John Peeke Peter Yeo
Richard Gould Richard Peeke Peter Yeo
Richard Gould Hugh Pereton -

(The above names are written in the same  hand; the following are signatures)

Jonas Stile - Vicar

Robert Phillipp - Constable

Nicholas Cole - Constable

Richard Mylton - Churchwarden

Philip Luckhamp - Churchwarden

Thomas Tope, Churchwarden

William Clarke - Overseer

Thomas Gillard - Overseer

Robert Edwardes - Overseer

Christopher Fiall - Overseer


* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.

Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page