^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials


Use the scroll bar to view the complete page

By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.

On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the king and to Parliament. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in "the Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".

They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.

We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  An indexed transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.

The Protestation Returns are arranged by parishes which are grouped in Hundreds*

East & West Teignmouth belonged to the Hundred of Exminster

William Bishopp Henry Hunte William Welch
James Blackston Elizeus Lamsheade Edward Wilkin
James Blackston John Lowe Geoffrey Wilkin
John Cloade Richard Lutton John Wilkin
Walter Dearinge Henry Rashley John Wilkin jnr
William Drewe Richard Reckeliffe John Wilkin jnr
John Ewen Richard Rodes Nicholas Wilkin snr
Nicholas Ewen Robert Rowe Nicholas Wilkin jnr
Andrew Filsome George Saterlye Richard Wilkin
John Goulserye Thomas Shaply Richard Wilkin jnr
Martin Goulsery Richard Starr William Wilkin
John Ham John Sulke Walter Wilkin snr
Elizius Hewett Henry Thorninge Walter Wilkin jnr
Ewen Hill Edward Waymouth William Wilkin
John Hooper William Waymouth  

Signed by 

John Risdon - Curate

John Alwarde William Fletcher John Pearne
Philip Babb Thomas Forde Gregory Peatle
Thomas Babb Richard Froste Richard Philpe
John Bawdon John Gammon Robert Pile
Richard Bawdon Thomas Gammon William Pile
John Beaden John Gaunte Richard Pinsente
Laurence Bearde snr Richard Gaunte William Pinsente
Laurence Bearde jnr Thomas Gaunte Michael Preste
Richard Bearde Nicholas Geale Robert Rendell
George Best Roger Grenfill Roger Scorse
William Blush John Hale John Sheere
John Bone Joseph Hale Edward Shilstone
Jasper Bonfeilde John Harvy John Shilstone
Anthony Braddon Thomas Hewarde Richard Shilstone
Thomas Braddon William Hewarde Thomas Shilstone
Thomas Braddon jnr John Hodge Richard Shobrocke
Philip Brazer Stephen Hollogrove Edward Shobrocke
Augustone Briante George Hollorde William Simons
Thomas Britnall Nicholas Hunte Raymond Smith
John Burrington John Hurle William Smith
John Cade Robert Kersewell Walter Stoneman
John Carnell Philip Kerton Arculus Straplin
William Carswill Ambrose Lane James Tayller
John Clarke Gregory Langforde William Thorne
Thomas Clarke Simon Leere Richard Tommalin
John Clarke jnr David Luckis Andrew Towill
Richard Clouter Walter Lyell Mark Towill
Henry Cominge Thomas Martin Nathaniel Towill
Thomas Cominge Edward Martyn Richard Towill
William Comminge John Martyn Sidrach Towell
William Cookerye Nicholas Martyn Thomas Towill
Richard Cosh Peter Martyn William Tozer
Stephen Deamonde Geoffrey Matterface John Vallance
Nicholas Emblin Gregory Matterface Thomas Vincent
Thomas Escott Elizeus Moore John Vinsent
Thomas Escott jnr Richard Moore John Wilkin
Mark Ewen Nicholas Paddon David Williams
Gregory Farrwell Robert Peatye William Wills
Richard Feilde Edward Pearce Andrew Wooles
  Richard Yeeles

Signed by 

John Risdon - Curate

* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purposes.
Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                                                            Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page